Delete the Document! An Adventures with Tootles Tale…

Jessica is my 4 year old son’s 24 year old best friend. She teaches him cool words like “Scrill!” and “Come on!” to use during video game play.  She gets together with “Tootles” as she calls him, weekdays at the office where we work and sometimes on weekends at home.

Due to the popularity of “Adventures with Tootles”, Jessica has consented to drop in on a regular basis and regale you with more…This is her 2nd contribution.  Please enjoy more “Adventures with Tootles”

Adventures with Tootles

Adventures with Tootles

 

So, as you may or may not know, I work with Tootles’ mommy at a law firm. I like my job. So much in fact, that I want to be a lawyer when I grow up!

At work, there is a lot of writing and typing involved. Lots of documents that I have to write. Lots of due dates and stuff that was supposed to be done YESTERDAY!!

Well, my little buddy Tootles doesn’t really understand that what I do is VERY important (or at least I like to think that it is). Lots of my work needs to be saved and referenced at a later date. And some of it I have been working on for a while, so that I can perfect it before it goes out.

Tootles and I have always liked to hang out. And, lucky for me, Tootles loves computers, typing and deleting and making the font bigger and smaller, making the “words” italicized and bold, and then deleting it all! He especially LOVES deleting it ALL!!

One day, I was working very diligently on a document for Tootles’ mommy. I had been working on that document for days and days and days, looking up facts and trying to make it perfect. I was tired of looking at the same document for so long.  I got up from my desk and decided to stretch my legs.

Unbeknownst to me, Tootles was on a search for his best buddy, while I was off walking around. He came to my desk and saw his favorite game in the world! DELETE THE DOCUMENT!!! So, Tootles did what he loved and deleted all my days of hard work. All the while laughing and smiling.

I came around the corner to see my little buddy playing on my computer and I freaked! WHAT THE?!!??! T O O T L E S!!!!!! NOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

I was too late. The damage was done.  All my hard work was now lost forever in computer hell. I’d never ever get it back!! Sheer horror on my face, Tootles looks up at me and smiles.  I try to crack a smile, despite my devastation. He hops down from my chair.  I run as fast as anyone can build up speed when Point A and Point B are three feet from each other.  I hit “control z” (undo) as many times as possible only to remember that I had saved it right before I went on my stroll!!!!

YESSSSSS!!!! I’m saved!! Delete the document, you have nothing on me!! WAAAAHOOOO!!

I turn to Tootles and tell him that he gave me the biggest heart attack EVER! He still smiles and then asks “Do you want to delete the document?”

I sure don’t!!

Deleting with supervision

Deleting without supervision!

[Solodialogue’s Note:  Jessica’s Adventures with Tootles shows what I consider a very healthy, accepting and nonjudgmental relationship by someone who knew my son, but did not know autism and then has the word “autism” introduced into the equation.  True, that when I told her of his diagnosis, I was a little taken aback at her blunt – so what- approach.  But since that day, she has shown me how adding a “label” to certain behaviors does not have to change a relationship between my son and others, and between others and me.  She’s shown me that autism is irrelevant to who we really are inside.  And she’s shown me that what I sometimes view with worry and fear, can be viewed with laughter, tickles, and love.]

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Delete the Document! An Adventures with Tootles Tale…

  1. Thank you for the Saturday morning laugh, Jessica! I just love your adventures!

  2. Pingback: The Associates. | Solodialogue

Leave a Reply

