Little Valentine

[Ahh, this is the first time, I’ve pulled a re-run!  But it’s so appropriate that I give you this story again on February 14th.  Happy Valentine’s Day!]

Valentine’s Day is fast approaching.  And, not that I’m bragging or anything (wink wink), but every year, many, many girls want to be my son’s Valentine. They have outright declared my son as their chosen one or otherwise expressed this sentiment to both of us.  Here are a few reasons why:

A.  Dancing

As I’ve mentioned, my son dances. He is not shy about this.  He will dance to anything: a commercial, a theme song, the sound of a photocopier, or actual music.  He does prefer a high pitched test pattern tone to actual music, but still he’s a dancer.  And, he can keep it up for hours.  This is partly because his feet stay, pretty much, in the same spot, while his knees bend and his head bops from side to side.  He will dance with more than one partner at a time and loves a good dance party!

B.  General Partying and Attention Seeking

This kid has more toys than Santa’s workshop.  There is never a dull moment because there is always something to play with, something to do,  My son likes to stay up late, play games, and nosh on gourmet appetizers such as powered sugar donuts and bananas.  Caked with sugar on his mouth, he will laugh for no apparent reason.  Then, he will settle down to a smile, cuddle up in his bean bag chair and play.

Noshing and Gaming

He knows all the newest words (even if he does not give them to me in a sentence).  Most recently, while playing video games, he has been yelling out, “Scrill!” when he completes a level.  (I have learned “scrill” is a slang term for money.  I believe he picked this up from his 24 year old friend, Jessica).  Today, while playing, he randomly shouted out “Beer!”  (That comes from his daddy’s side, not mine!)

C.  Knows How to Get Positive Feedback

He will also applaud and cheer for himself.  When he believes he has done something good, such as level up on a game, finish a meal, or put on his shoes, he will ask, “Did you complete the level?” or “Did you put your shoes on?” (sometimes on the wrong feet) and follow this by applauding himself and looking around for affirmation. A future thespian?  Politician?  Lawyer? Perhaps.  Babe magnet for sure!

D.  Bad Boy Image

His ability to keep himself entertained, leaves the girls wanting more.  They cannot understand why they can’t get his attention.  This works for him, sometimes.  He’s also into the latest “tats”  which all the ladies love.

Girls Love a Tatoo

E. Decent at a restaurant.

Where, in the past, there might have been problems on date at a restaurant, my son’s tolerance for eating out has dramatically improved.  This only encourages the ones eyeing him to get him to the local diner for a milkshake.

Shake at the Diner

F.  Love Monster

Today, as I was sitting down to write, without any solicitation from me, he walked over, hugged me and said, “Do you love mommy?”  This was a surprise.  I cannot describe to you what happiness this brings me!  The warmth of the embrace and the kisses I received were pure, innocent joy!  That my son experienced this feeling, the big Kahuna of emotion, knew it as love, and wanted to share it with me was amazing!!

So eat your hearts out, girls!  This Valentine is taken!!

Valentines

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Valentine

  1. Lisa says:

    lol such a cutie!!!!

    PigPen is sitting with me covered in stickers asking who the lil boy in the pictures is. So I guess you’re right total babe magnet!

Leave a Reply

