The conversation went like this…

My son is four and is full of ideas and opinions, despite some difficulty communicating some of those notions to others, including me.  Given this strong-willed little personality who is the star of this blog, I thought it would be nice to do somewhat of an interview with him so you can get to know him better.  This interview, is pretty much how a standard conversation goes when someone wants to get to know him.  I prod.  He gives up very little.  I am never sure if he really knows what the heck I’m talking about or why I am “buggin’” him.

Here’s how it went:

I called him to come sit down with me.  He sat down.  He had a cup of water on the table.  Immediately, he knocked it over.  He picked it up.  I asked him to get a wipee to clean up the small water spill.  He ran over and got a wipee.  He got to the wipee area but was distracted and wanted to get a book.  I redirected him to the wipees.  He tore an edge off.  He then proceeded to forget what he was supposed to do and climbed on the bed to play with the iPad.

I told him again, to come clean up the spill.  He comes over with the shred of the wipee and tries to wipe up the spill, not with the wipee but with his free hand.  I get up, get the appropriate items, wipe off his hand, and wipe down the table.  As I go to throw away the wipes, my son has left the room as he found a toy in another room that caught his interest.

I call him back to sit down.  He comes back.  We start.

Q: What is your favorite toy?

A: “Road Rippers RC – red.”

He takes off again and goes to pay with, yes, you guessed it.  The Road Rippers red remote control car.

Distraction #1

I tell him to come back and sit down.  He returns.

Q: Do you like to wear pants or shorts?

A: “Short pants.  Long pants.  No, short pants.”

He gets on the floor and starts playing with a toy he left on the floor. A very old baby’s steering wheel.  I call him back to sit down at the table.  He gets up and sits down with me.

Q:  Do you like winter or summer?

A: “Wint…Summer!”

I do not do why questions.  I rarely get an answer to a “why” question.

He gets up.  I tell him to sit back down.  He sits backwards on the chair, facing away from me.  “Turn around,”  He turns around.  This takes about 45 seconds to accomplish, reluctantly.

Q: Who do you love?

A: “Mommy” (Yeah, yeah it was not a set-up.  And the answer was my favorite, of course!)

Q:  Who else do you love?

A: “[Says his own name]”

Q:  Do you love daddy?

A: Yes.

Q:  Do you like to be happy or sad?

A: “Happy”

He turns away in the chair again.  Then he demands, “Mommy, make the monkey sound!”  I comply.

Q:  What is your favorite TV show?

A: “Chuggington.”

He gets out of the chair and lays down on the floor, facing away from me.

Q:  Where do you like to go bye-bye?

A: “To the…….”

Then he forgets what we are talking about and looks around for something to play with.  I tell him to come back and sit on the chair at the table with me.  He does.

Q:  No, where do you like to go bye-bye?

A:  “To school!”

Q:  Who is your best friend?

A: “[Says own name]”.

Q:  No, someone else.  Not yourself.  Who do you like to play with?

A: “Mommy.”  (Another good response, by my standards)

Q:  Who else do you like to play with ?

A: “[Says own name again].

At this point, his dad walks in.  My son gets up and asks daddy to play cars with him.  I encourage my son to come back and sit down.  His dad leaves the room.  My son walks back over to me and says, “Do you love mommy?”  I ask  it back.  “Do you love mommy?”  “Yes!”  (I love that game!)

Q: What is your favorite toy store?

A: “Toys-R-Us.”  (No hesitation here).

Q: What’s your favorite song?

A: Yankee Doodle.  (It was playing on a toy in the background).

Q:  What is your favorite sport?

[No response]

Q: Do you like football, baseball, basketball or golf?

A: Basketball!  Basketball!

Q:  Do you like to go to sleep at night?

A: “Yes.”  [This one is a lie, in mommy’s opinion.]

Q:  What is your favorite food?

A: “Ice cream.”

That last question?  No hesitation there either.

Summarizing the interview subject, we can establish that he prefers summer to winter and enjoys wearing shorts.   Consistent with loving summer, his favorite “food” is ice cream.  He loves his mom and considers her his best friend.

He enjoys a good game of basketball.  He loves to put Yankee Doodle on his musical toys at full volume.  He loves a fruitful trip to the local Toys-R-Us.  And he willingly settles down for bed at night. (Only true if we are talking after 11 pm. and after sufficiently, running jumping, escaping from bed, crashing into a bean bag chair, and ending up exhaustedly falling asleep).

Are you exhausted listening to this interview?  This is how I get nearly all information from my son.  If I cannot get an answer one way (such as the sports question) I have to break it down other ways to make sure he understands.

This kind of communication can get tiring but I love this little guy. He does not usually get a barrage of questions like this all at once.  Don’t feel sorry for him.   Trust me.  He gives way better than he gets.

When he interviews me, daily, lately, the top two questions are “What does the Doctor Fish do?” and “What does a monkey eat?”.  He knows the answer to the last question is bananas.  He still asks the question.  About 25 times per day.  The Doctor Fish?  I have no idea.  I’ve been telling him the Dr. Fish makes the baby fish feel better.  He then repeats: “The Doctor Fish keeps the baby fish better!’

Questions facilitate communication.  Half the time I don’t know what were communicating about but we’re still communicating.  We’ll both keep asking each other questions.  And telling each other we love each other.  That part, we both get.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The conversation went like this…

  1. How cool. Toodles is such a neat kid — I really loved the exclusive interview! Might have to try this one with Kaia someday 🙂

  2. spectrumdeb says:

    At 13, Sterling still does the lying-on-the-floor-facing-away thing to answer questions. I am not at all bothered by it any more, except for all the dustmop action. I just asked him why and he saud, “I don’t know. It is just a comfortable thing.”

  3. Tam says:

    I wonder if the doctor fish question has something to do with One Fish, Two Fish by Dr Seuss… also, I could have sworn at least one of Seuss’s books has a fish wearing a stethoscope but I can’t find it right now.

    • solodialogue says:

      You made me so curious, I went and got the book out. I have not read this with my son since he was about one (look- I’m rhyming already!) There is no Dr. Fish in this story but I wonder if he picked it up at circle time at preschool. Thanks, Tam for giving me something to think about and thanks for reading!!

  4. Cara says:

    I love this 🙂 it made me smile cause it’s so him and I adore him for it!

Leave a Reply

