Hangin’ with the Popular Kids at the Smoke Shack – A Meme Project!

If you come here from somewhere other than the autism community of bloggers then you may not be familiar with a few things that present themselves on this blog.  First, on the sidebar of my posts is a list of fellow bloggers who have really amazing writing talent and write on a regular, if not daily basis.  I am a fan of each and every person listed.  If you click on the name of their sites, a window will open to fun, informative, inspiring, sometimes comedic, fabulous worlds.

One of my fellow bloggers is Kelly from Unplanned Trip to Holland.  She is a sassy, deliciously funny blogger who makes me laugh out loud every single day.  Kelly was evil kind enough to bestow upon me my very first ever, “meme”.  What is a “meme” you ask?  The best way I would describe it is how Kelly did – it’s an internet blogger’s version of “Tag- You’re It!” with an idea/concept/question to which you must respond.  It comes with or without rules.  In turn, you then tag others to follow suit.

I have never been tagged for a meme before.  I guess someone out there actually knows who I am and that I write something here.  Here’s how Kelly put it when she was tagged on her site:

“I feel like one of the cool kids! Or, at least how I imagine the cool kids must feel. . . . Oh, yeah, baby. I can feel it. This is the start of some big-time popularity. Soon I’ll be asked to go to the beer parties and out to the smoke hole.”

Now, I can feel just as awesomely popular as Kelly!!  In my day, it was the “smoke shack” and “keggers”.  I went to the keggers but was never cool enough for the smoke shack so take that Dieffe twins!!  (sorry -old issues).

Here is how I came to learn of her “tag”.  One day I was clicking on Kelly’s blog.  I’m sure I needed a laugh.  I started to read the quote above and the rules.  The rules are:

1.     Take a picture of the books you are reading currently and add them to your post.

2.     Describe the books and if you are enjoying them

3.     For every book you are reading, you have to tag one person.

4.     Leave the person a comment letting them know you tagged them.

It seems like a pretty fun thing, right?  Except as I started to read it, I was thinking, wow, sure glad this isn’t me!  When does anyone have time to read?  What the hell would I say if someone actually did this to me?  Well, as I got through the post (Kelly is reading some cool books) I saw my name!  Imagine my chagrin at being tagged.  So, here are the books I have started at various times and quickly dusted off for this “meme”.  Thanks, Kelly.

First, let’s get real.  We are all reading a children’s book of some sort daily, right?  C’mon, I can’t be alone here!!  Here is one of my personal favorites –

When I’m getting the wild one settled down for the night sometimes I will try to read The Boss Baby by Marla Frazee.  Review?  I love it.  The little guy does not like it at all.  This book is my life.  My son is truly – in many ways, my boss.  I’m thinking maybe a few of you can relate.  Just look at this illustration:

Can you tell me you haven’t been there?!  This is why I love this book!

Second  –

The Lost Symbol, by Dan Brown.  Who doesn’t love a good thriller?  I have never seen the movie “The DaVinci Code” with Tom Hanks.  I read the book but the movie came out when I was 9 months pregnant and I was a little busy then.  I loved the book though and earlier novels written by Dan Brown.  Truthfully, I’ve barely started this book but as usual, when I get to the end of a chapter, I keep wanting to turn the page and go on…  This time Robert Langdon is trying to rescue a kidnapped mentor.  How about this line, “The Araf?  Hamistagan?  That place to which Dante devoted the canticle immediately following his legendary inferno?”  Dang, I have to Google a lot but still, it’s a good read so far.

Third –

My true nerdness comes full on spotlight here – Physics of the Impossible by Michio Kaku.  Michio Kaku is a professor of theoretical physics who has written many books (which I own the vast majority of) and hosts a TV show on the Discovery Channel.  He is often on TV to explain science to the public.  I LOVE this man.  He is truly brilliant.  Again, I am a total nerd when it comes to astrophysics.  I cannot completely comprehend the concepts all the time, but I keep on trying.  Time travel, formation of the universe, parallel universes are all fascinating to me.  Not a big sci-fi fan in terms of movies or TV but the actual science part of it intrigues me.  This book discusses the possibilities of attaining such currently sci-fi concepts as force fields, invisibility, parallel universes, antimatter and anti-universes.  Did someone say nerd?  Yeah, that’s me.

Fourth –

The Confession by John Grisham.  I have a confession of my own.  I have a love-hate with Grisham’s novels.  I usually love the beginning and middle and I often feel he is just awful at the end like he was rushing to meet a deadline.  Really!  I often get really p.o.’ed by his endings.  I find a lot of it is accurate from a legal standpoint but way overkill on the drama.  Of course, that’s the fun part and, yeah, I keep coming back for more.

The Confession is about a convicted felon who got away with raping and killing a high school cheerleader.  Someone else was convicted of the murder.  Four days before the execution, the real murderer who has a terminal brain tumor confesses to a pastor that he is the real killer.   So far, it’s engaging and I want to read more.  So far.

One thing you won’t see here is a book about autism.  Why?  Because, all the books I’ve bought – and there are a lot of them – suck.  They are written for teachers or people who are trying to figure out if their kids have autism/aspergers and they really provide nothing up to date and new for me.  I have these books.  They collect dust under the bed.  I find better, newer,  information through the internet.

Finally, since this is a blog about my son’s autism, I asked him to pick out his favorite book that we do read together.  (OK, Kelly – so shoot me- not exactly following the rules).  He told me, “Ice Cream book.”

This is that book.  It originally came with a Matchbox Ice Cream Truck.  He loves the story of the ice cream truck driving through the neighborhood and everyone getting ice cream.  The kid takes after his mom.  When I was his age, I used to pretend I drove an ice cream truck!

And now, the fun part.  I have listed five books.  Here are my victims:

First, Rachel Cohen Rottenberg from Journeys with Autism because she’s so smart and witty and fun and I want to know what really smart, witty, published authors read.

Second, Karla Fitch from Hello World, It’s Me Kaia who has a daughter that is just about a year younger than my son and is just as busy so I want to know what she could possibly have time to read.

Third, bbsmum from Mum Accepting Autism because I don’t even know her first real name but she is funny as hell and I love her blog.  Plus she’s exotically foreign and I love that about her, so she must be reading some juicy stuff!

Fourth, I have to tag at least one famous person in my blogging world.  This is a tough one because it’s hard to get the attention of the famous bloggers.  They are busy jet setting on planes to exotic locales like Disney World and then busy blogging and feuding and running big radio shows.  So, someone like me, who tags such a person is taking the risk of that person not being able to fit my request in to her busy schedule.  Yet, I shall risk it nonetheless, because who does not want to hear what books the famous Lynn Hudoba,  Autism Army Mom is reading?  I know I do!

And finally, I tag Lizbeth at Four Sea Stars because she is fun and beautiful and knows how to tell a story.

Ha ha, ladies!!! It’s on.  Go girls!! And don’t hate me… you get your turn to tag at the end!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hangin’ with the Popular Kids at the Smoke Shack – A Meme Project!

  1. Lizbeth says:

    Woman, I’m going to come over there and beat you with a broom. Bwaaah!
    No, seriously, I’m honored.
    And just so we’re all clear, I’m HOT, not beautiful….at least that makes me sleep better at night. So even if I look like the rear end of a pony please keep your thought’s private–that’s something I’ve been trying to get my son to do with NO success.

  2. Big Daddy says:

    Ha! Lynn reading a book? Good one.

    Kelly = Sassy? Another good one!

    If you got tagged with this meme next month, you could have taken a picture of my book!

    • solodialogue says:

      True, but you are too slow! I’ve been bugging you about this book for how long now? I did not tag you because I’ve read how you follow rules on memes… Be nice to Lynn- maybe by the time she does hers, she’ll review your book – uh-oh!

  3. Lynn says:

    Famous? You so crazy! Oh God this will be an embarrassing meme for me. I used to be a voracious reader and blogging has sunk that for me. I can’t even keep up with my magazine subscription. I will just have to lie…

    Thanks Karen!

    • solodialogue says:

      Lynn, you aren’t supposed to tell everyone you are lying! There is a good book coming out soon by some guy going by Big Daddy, I hear. Now, that would be some review!

  4. bbsmum says:

    I love memes! It means I don’t have to think about what to post next! Just hope I can find something intelligent to pretend to read.

  5. eof737 says:

    Karen, This was a riot to read and fun to hear about what you are reading/planning to read…. The ice cream truck story works for me too because I love ice cream…
    Thank you for sharing your list and tag partners … 😉
    Eliz

  6. I really did *mean* to comment back on this… but it has been one of *those* weeks already. You know the kind I’m talking about 😉

    By the time I saw your comment on my meme post this afternoon, I realized that I had forgotten to comment on your post. I just went ahead and memed away… or is that mimed away? Made a memery of myself?

    Well, in case anyone else wants to see what I came up with, here’s the link ==> http://helloworlditskaia.blogspot.com/2011/03/book-meme-whats-on-my-night-stand.html Thanks again Karen for the little bit of blog brain candy!

    • solodialogue says:

      Glad you came through, Karla!! It wasn’t like a time deadline thing, but I must say you were a lot faster than I was. Loved reading your reads. Ha ha! I will be checking in for how your eval went. Sending good thoughts your way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

