A Love Story.

[Normally, I write here about my 4 year old son with autism and the things we learn from each other.  Friday afternoon, my mom went to the hospital.  She nearly died and is now on antibiotics for a blood infection.  My dad is by her side.  I love them both.  This blog post is about my parents.]

In 1934, a baby girl was born in a country full of turmoil called Korea.  She was the oldest of six children. One boy and four more girls followed her birth.  Her parents were teachers.  She grew up very poor.  She spent her days taking care of her siblings and washing clothes in a river.  She would sneak off from her chores to play piano at the local church.

In 1949, this girl was 17 year old and had some ideas.  She began passing papers that advocated against a communist government.  War broke out and this young woman was sent away for her safety to her aunt in the South.  The war raged around her.  She became separated from her entire family.

She got a job at the Postal Exchange where a young American soldier was stationed.  She was 20. He was 22.  They flirted.  They went to the movies.  She took him to an Italian movie with Korean subtitles that she tried to translate into English for him!  It was very funny and would be one of the memories that last a lifetime for they fell in love.

The war ended in 1953.  The soldier returned to America.  The young girl’s heart was broken.  She was cut off from her immediate family in the North.  She was sad.

She wrote love letters to her American soldier.  He wrote back to her.  He turned to his Swedish father.  He asked to borrow money to return to Korea and marry the girl.  The Swedish father, loving his son, loaned him the money.

The young girl and the American soldier were married in Korea.  The girl’s aunt was not pleased.  Americans were not good enough.  She was a disgrace.  The young, defiant Korean girl didn’t care.  She loved this American man.  So there was no ceremony.  No white gown or walking down the aisle.  No pomp and circumstance.  Just a simple piece of paper with a stamp.  A stamp that let her leave her country, her family, her life behind her.  No looking back.

Many years later, a little girl was born to them.  Their only child.  A child they spoiled and that bonded them.  The Korean mom swore her daughter would have the best of everything.  She worked hard, bought and ran her own hotel businesses and sent her daughter to law school.  Then, she retired.

While running hotels, they pose at the property they bought next to to the river.

The daughter grew up and got married.

50 years after the Korean girl and her American soldier were married, an adorable little boy was born to their daughter.  He is their only grandson.  That adorable little boy has autism.  His mama blogs about it.  And that is how we got here.

Writing is keeping me sane.  Or is it?  I may break down soon but not yet.  Keeping it together as my mom continues treatment in the hospital.  Dear God, please watch over my mom and dad.

Thank you to all who have expressed concern and support to me in this very difficult time.  Your prayers and well wishes help provide me the strength I need to share with my dad.  He continues his vigil by her bedside, holding her hand, night and day.

That is a true love story.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to A Love Story.

  1. Jen says:

    Great story. I had an ex who was the son of an American soldier and a Korean mother, who were also married. I hope your mom is doing better.

  2. My little Korean girl and I are still praying for you and your family. Thank you for the beautiful love story. Your mother is in our hearts as she recovers.

  3. Big Daddy says:

    That is a beautiful lve story. Hope your mom is doing better.

  4. That’s such a wonderful love story… I’m sorry to hear she’s not doing so well, I hope she recovers soon.

  5. omgyummy says:

    Saying hi from SITS! What a beautiful story. My husband’s family is of Korean descent – grandparents born there, parents born in Hawaii, he in San Francisco. And my son has Asperger’s — high functioning autism. We didn’t find out until 6th grade. I gave up my career about 9 years ago initially only to hang out at home for a year, but since then it became necessary to manage my son through school. He is doing great now but it is still at least a half time job just to make sure he graduates high school and can do with his life what he has the capability to. You will not regret a minute of what you are doing – it will make all the difference for your son. You may get frustrated A LOT, but you will not regret it.

    I hope your mom is recovering – she sounds like a strong woman with much to live for.

  6. Stephanie says:

    What a beautiful couple and wonderful love story! Still praying!

  7. Susan says:

    What a beautiful story!!…hope your mum continues to improve x

  8. Broot says:

    Beautiful story. 🙂

  9. Nancy G says:

    What a beautiful love story!! I pray your mom recovers quickly and completely!

  10. bbsmum says:

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful story. Thinking of you.

  11. eof737 says:

    A remarkable love story and a love that continues to shine… Karen, your parents are in our prayers and our hearts. I’m sending your mom virtual healing light and hugs to all of you. Hang in there… Thank you for sharing this heartwarming love story.
    Elizabeth

  12. Julie says:

    Saying a prayers for your parents. Hugs to you.

  13. I had a feeling there would be an amazing story, and I was right. Hang in there. Thinking of you. ((Hugs)).

  14. Amber says:

    I’m stopping by from SITS. This is a fabulous story…your family is in my thoughts and prayers.

    My husband is actually in Korea right now.

Leave a Reply

