Kiss Sandwich! An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

Jessica is my 4 year old son’s 25 year old best friend. She teaches him appropriate times to use cool words like “Scrilla scrill!” and “Come on!” when playing video games, shares snacks with him, runs around with him, and acts as his “reward” when he completes a behavioral therapy program.  She gets together with “Tootles” as she calls him, weekdays at the office where we work and sometimes, on weekends at home.

Jessica is a regular contributor to this blog.  Her posts appear here every other Saturday (and give Mommy a little break!)  Due to unforeseen circumstances, Jessica’s post missed the Saturday post.

So here it is now… Please enjoy”Adventures with Tootles”

Look at those chubby cheeks!

 

Tootles is a very loved little boy. His parents love him a lot. So much, in fact, that they do family hugs and kisses and all that jazz. Tootles eats it up.  He is not at the age yet that it is uncool or embarrassing. He loves kisses and hugs and to be picked up and tickled and all the great stuff that comes with being a kid.

Tootles especially loves kissing. It’s his favorite. He likes to give kisses as much as he loves to get them, although his technique is a little off.  If he wants to kiss you, he will look at you really intently, and then keep his mouth slightly open (usually with candy or something stuck to the side of his mouth) and smash his face (and the stuck on food) onto your face. It’s cute. Anyways.

Time for kisses!

His daddy started a funny little thing called “kiss sandwich”. Tootles LOVES the kiss sandwich!  The kiss sandwich consists of his mom kissing one cheek, and his dad kissing the other, and Tootles in the middle, having the biggest smile ever!

Tootles loves his kiss sandwich so much that he asks for it ALL the time. It’s cute so no one minds. (Plus, he has super chubby baby cheeks still.) Well, Tootles decided that when daddy was busy working, he had to find a person to man the other cheek.  Smart boy! Gotta keep the kisses coming!

Naturally, I was his lady. I don’t mind either. I LOVE kissing those chubby little cheeks! Tootles would ask mommy and me to do kiss sandwich!!  It was great.  He would laugh and keep saying, “You want a kiss sandwich?” Of course! I’ll never get too full for a kiss.

Well, one day, he wanted like 10 kiss sandwiches in a row!! So, of course, we made 10 kiss sandwiches. He was laughing and kept laughing and repeating himself.  Then he yelled out MOMMY AND JESSICA KISS!

Me and Tootles’ mommy looked at each other and started laughing! UMMM, sorry Tootles but NO!! Yikes. I know that I said I would never get too full, but I think I was too full for that kiss!

[Solodialogue’s Note:  Jessica’s Adventures with Tootles shows what I consider a very healthy, accepting and nonjudgmental relationship by someone who knew my son, but did not know autism and then has the word “autism” introduced into the equation.  True, that when I told her of his diagnosis, I was a little taken aback at her blunt – so what- approach.  But since that day, she has shown me how adding a “label” to certain behaviors does not have to change a relationship between my son and others, and between others and me.  She’s shown me that autism is irrelevant to who we really are inside.  And she’s shown me that what I sometimes view with worry and fear, can be viewed with laughter, tickles, and love.]

[PPS – Thank you all from the bottom of my heart for your kind words of support in this very difficult time.  I spent most of the night in the ICU with my mom and dad.  She had a setback.  We were required to leave and I brought my dad home with me.  It is 1:00 a.m. as I prepare to insert this post, raining pouring.  We go back to ICU soon this morning and I will update as I can.  I can never express how much your words and love mean to me!]


About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Kiss Sandwich! An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

  1. Lizbeth says:

    I got pulled away this weekend—family stuff—how is your mum? Been thinking of you and totally unable to get a few words in edgewise.

    Jessica sounds like a life saver. At least Tootles isn’t doing an open mouth kiss….we went through that stage. Yick is all I can say.

    (((hugs)))

  2. C... says:

    Oh my! LOL – yea that was awkward.

  3. Julie says:

    Lizbeth – we went through that too – unfortunately, it was during a time when my son was drooling non-stop.

    My Dylan loves kiss sandwiches too. Jessica sounds absolutely lovely. I think anyone who can see past anyone’s challenges in life and just see that person’s soul is a wonderful person to have around.

  4. Kelly says:

    Oh, enjoy those kiss sandwhiches. AJ loves kisses and kissing, but I have to get special permission to kiss Ted. It doesn’t happen very often, but when it does, my heart melts a little every time.

    Thinking of you and your family. My thoughts are with you all.

  5. Kiss sandwiches sound like so much fun! We’re going to have to try one with Kaia 🙂

    Karen — your mom is still in our prayers. I hope that this morning brings sunshine and hope for a speedy recovery.

  6. Danica says:

    Love, Love, Love :o) Very cute….. So glad you have her in your life.

    Hoping things turn around for your mom. Keeping you & them in my prayers. Hope you and your dad can find peace through all of this. ***Hugs***
    Wish I could offer more than just thoughts & prayers.

  7. eof737 says:

    These stories with Jessica are wonderful… they show the interactions and fun moments so well.
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

