Virtual Stickers and ASD…

My son likes to read.  I’ve mentioned this before.  He uses his reading skills to play lots of games on the iPad, unassisted.  He can enter his name for scores and credits in the games he plays.  Knowing that kids like stickers, some app makers use a fake or “virtual” sticker as a reward for doing well on a game.

One of my son’s favorite apps is called Teach Me Kindergarten.  You can learn about this app for your child here. This is a game he will play for 20 minutes at a time.  Quietly.  By himself.  It is a great game when mommy is trying to get something done because he is so engaged in it that he does not move from his spot and he learns at the same time!!

The only bad part to the game is the annoying woman’s voice as “Mimi Mouse”.  She is the teacher.  She asks a series of questions in the areas of spelling, reading and math.  It is a multiple choice exam, basically.  She will say, “Find the word “every” and he will have to tap on the word.

If he gets 3 correct, he gets a coin.  The coin can be used to purchase “stickers” for scenes. One of the scenes for which he “purchases” stickers is called the “City Scene”.  The scene is a cartoon city street with businesses on it.  You can buy any of these stickers to add to your City Scene.

Variety of "Stickers" for City Scenes

There are scenes for the beach, city, farm, reef, pirate cove, and an aquarium.  My son prefers the “City Scene.”

Now, if you’ve been around here before, you know that at the end of February I had to rush my son by ambulance to the hospital and he turned out to have a bladder infection.  Two weeks later, his grandma was taken to the hospital by ambulance as well.  This has made an impression on the little guy.

He has wanted to go to the hospital every day to see his grandma.  When he visits grandma, we take the iPad to keep him from reconfiguring her IV drips and deflating her air bed.  Most days he does go, he cheers her up.  He plays at home with his doctor kit.  He says he will be a doctor when he grows up.  (The last one I like!)

When you combine his love of playing the iPad game, and the recent “focus” he has had on the medical profession, you can see that the ambulances he has seen up close and personal in the last couple of weeks might be weighing on his mind.  So, when he was playing the game on the iPad today, this is what I saw:

City Scene

You tell me.  Is this the mind of a 4 year old ASD boy or just a really bad lawyer’s dream?  (Yes, of course current lawyer excepted… )  I think I’ll just leave it at that.  I’m pretty sure someone is going to have to make a lawyer joke at this point.  That’s ok.  I can take it.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Virtual Stickers and ASD…

  1. Lizbeth says:

    Both. It is good to see he’s processing what’s going on. I see he managed to get in one fire hydrant and the front part of a truck. I’m not sure what that says. Hum….

    As a prior hospital adminstrator I look at that and think—Influx, major medical influx! Go to the triage system NOW and start calling backup! Accckkk!!!!

    • solodialogue says:

      Haha! I hope you don’t have a nightmare based on my son’s stickers, Ms. ex-hospital administrator!! I’m not sure what the fire hydrant and truck front and backs mean either. Just a little variety, I guess!

  2. Big Daddy says:

    Safest city on earth? Unhealthiest city on earth?

  3. Broot says:

    I think he just likes the ambulances. 😉 Processing is good! 🙂

  4. Now, now…there’s also a small red car, the edge of a yellow vehicle (I think) of some sort that isn’t a bus, something rectangular and green, and what looks to be four blue truck-backs, along with that fire hydrant and the truck-front. Non-ambulances are still outnumbered, I’ll grant you…..

  5. sharde says:

    Im a nanny for a 5 yo boy with autism- and he has a game where he earns stickers too! its like monkeys lunch box or something like that- and his little board of stickers is chock full. sometimes its the same stuff over and over again, but sometimes he likes variety. boy is he funny. i love my ty! he has two other siblings, 2 and 7 who also play with the ipod touch on the games, and i think he observes them so much and gets alot of ideas from them. who knows, my boy is a genius. 🙂 i love how he is so smart at some things, it just makes you so happy and melts your heart. i have those moments, and i watch his mom have those moments too. i know you do too!

    i found you through SITS today-

    come and visit me at thestyleprojects.blogspot.com 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      Thank you so much for coming here Sharde! It’s always wonderful to hear from new people who bring their own experiences with autism to this blog! Your perspective is so sweet and refreshing and makes my day. 🙂

  6. Tam says:

    He sure must be doing well with those game questions! 🙂

  7. Lisa says:

    lol Racers would be dinos

  8. eof737 says:

    Yep, the hospital visits and the ambulances are on his mind… like they’ve been on yours. I like that picture though… 🙂
    Eliz

  9. bbsmum says:

    Think I’ll steer clear of that city…

  10. Flannery says:

    Wow, that city must be in Florida.

  11. Hopefully he’ll be an ambulance collector rather than chaser, though with all those legal genes, I’m not so sure. 😉

  12. Cara Miller says:

    This is just awesome! I love your son!

Leave a Reply

