A Simple Poem from your Mommy.

The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new.  ~Rajneesh

I no longer remember the pain.

I only remember your sweet little face.

Seeing you for the first time, swaddled in a blanket patterned with tiny footprints,

A tiny little knit hat on your head.

Tears fell from my eyes at the sight of you.

So perfect.

A little miracle of life.

Your daddy laid you on my chest for the very first time.

I loved you from the moment I knew you were there.

Before then, the emptiness I had inside,

Was always where you were meant to be.

Slowly, with the days and then the years that passed,

You have gained your own identity.

Still, everything you do is filled with innocence,

Even the mischief.

Constantly seeking reassurance and guidance

You have grown to your own little personality.

No one brings me joy like you do.

So, when you wish me a Happy Day today,

I want you to know that,

The sound of your voice,

the feel of your hug,

and the love in your heart,

Make me happy not, just today, but every single day,

Now and forever.

If I had a single flower for every time I think about you,

I could walk forever in my garden. 

~Attributed to Claudia Ghandi

A Very Happy Mother’s Day to All My Mommy Friends!




About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Simple Poem from your Mommy.

  1. Happy Mother’s day to you as well, my friend!

  2. C... says:

    Happy Mother’s day. My son is with his dad today so I made myself some raspberry and chocolate chip pancakes and I am just relaxing. I might see him later.

    • solodialogue says:

      Sounds so yummy! Hope you had lots of relaxation. It’s good to have that once in awhile. I saw tons of dads out with the kids today to give the moms a break!

  3. Happy Mother’s Day to you! 🙂

  4. Happy Mother’s Day!

  5. jillsmo says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Karen!! ❤

  6. Big Daddy says:

    Hope you’re having a wonderful Mother’s Day.

  7. Bella says:

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  8. solodialogue says:

    You all are awesome! So excited to have a comment from all of you – Happy Mother’s Day again to all – (and to Mrs. BD!)

  9. eof737 says:

    So, so beautiful. Thanks for sharing that special time with us. 🙂
    “╔═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╗
    ೋ❤❤❤HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!❤❤❤ೋ
    ╚═════════ ೋღ❤ღೋ ═════════╝”

  10. Sue says:

    Beautiful poem and pictures! I hope you had a happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

