Yo! Yo! Cute Quirks…

When I talk about autism, sometimes, I will mention “quirks” or “quirky” behavior.  Something a little out of the ordinary.  One of the very first times, I heard this word used in conversation with me was that fateful day our pediatrician finally said she wanted to have my son evaluated for autism.  I swear she used the word “quirky” about 10 times during that conversation.  And even though I was devastated that day, I can now look back and say with a smile that yes, my son does have his quirks.  Here are some of the “quirks” that have brought me a laugh:

Talking About Wall Hazards

As part of his need to figure out where his body is in space, my son has intentionally, and repeatedly, run straight into walls and then fallen to the floor.  He enjoys this activity, especially at our office, where he will bust himself up laughing while running from one end of his room to the other.  It is loud, however, and not particularly healthy so he is repeatedly cautioned not to do it.  He has curtailed this for the most part, but now has some philosophical musings over it instead.

As we ride in the car, he will point to any (and every) brick or concrete wall that we pass on our way to and fro.  The following conversation then, inevitably, ensues:

My son: “Do we run into that wall?”  (pointing)

Mom: “Do we?”

My son: “No.”

Mom:  “Why?”

My son: “Because it could hurt.”

Mom:  “And then what?”

My son: “And then that could be a time-out.  That’s what Trista said.”  [Caveat – Trista, my son’s senior ABA tutor, does not actually say this, although she does impose the time outs regularly].

Little Picasso 

My son is in a phase where he regularly wants to use scissors, cut paper and glue things.  He thinks Elmer’s Glue is the holy grail of all artwork supplies and acts as though he has won the lottery every time he gets to hold a bottle or a stick of glue.   He will beg, plead and promise anything to get to use some glue.  (We’re not into sniffing yet – just squeezing and sticking things together).  At OT, he had a chance to use a glue stick but he had to cut out a shape first.  Once the shape was cut out he shouted:

“Let’s Elmer it!” with glee.

Turn-Taking

Turn taking is a really big deal with therapy.  Everyone who comes in contact, in a therapeutic way with my son, is involved in teaching him how to take turns.  For the most part he is pretty cooperative during his behavioral, speech or OT classes with taking turns and much of the struggle is in getting him to use the right pronouns to convey “Your turn” and “my turn.”

With me, however, at least two or three times a day, turn-taking has a different tone. He will ask me to change a battery or fix a toy.  When I go to check the fixed toy, there is trouble in paradise.  I will push a button and he will go nuts trying to get it back.  I will then say, “It’s my turn,” or “Mommy’s turn.” The reaction I have been getting lately is “Yo!  Yo!” (heavy emphasis on the second “yo”) followed by  “It’s [Tootles’] turn!”  Consistently, I get 2 “yo”s together followed by asserting his own turn, coupled with a reach or grab for the object.

That he does not want to take turns?  I’m thinking this is more a NT, only child, type behavior.  The quirky part? His need to shout, “Yo! Yo!”  first.  It is hard to chastise or discipline him when I am laughing.  There is just something about the way he says it that tickles my funny bone every single time.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yo! Yo! Cute Quirks…

  1. Kelly says:

    Yo! Yo! Is Tootle’s part New Yorker?

    I love these “quirks” that you posted. I know that my sons have some less-than-healthy quirks (running into walls, purposefully falling, stuffing his mouth, gagging himself, etc.). But the fun(ny) quirks are great and inject some humor into what can be a very humorless and trying scenerio. Vive le quirk!

  2. Lizbeth says:

    I love this part, where they’re goofy and quirky. You have to laugh!

  3. I love this kind of post. There’s no way I could keep a straight face if I heard him say “yo yo”!

    We had the wall thing too- I vividly remember Andrew crawling into walls, over and over again, when he was about 10 months old. That’s funny that Tootles talks about them! I really think that our boys would have a lot to talk about together, if we could get the words out of them.

  4. Flannery says:

    Awww, those are cute! We have not discovered the job of glue at my house, but any excuse to wield scissors will do. Of course he had to choose the most dangerous art supply. Of course. We don’t talk about walls much, but have a lot of discussions about bridges. No attempts to dive off one though, thankfully.

    • solodialogue says:

      Why are scissors so popular? It must be that lure of danger.
      Bridges are very cool. I’d much rather talk about a bridge than a brick wall. Just sayin’…

  5. danidawn says:

    TOO FUNNY :o) I could have written this. YoYo thats good knowing he hasn’t been to N.Y. LOL. PA will just repeat her self over and over till we explain to her to wait her turn.
    PA runs into walls, doors and just about anything else and I have the same back and forth conversation about running into walls, but PA will tell me when I ask her what happens after “and then what?” she will say “Go to Dr.” at that point she has forgotten what we were talking about in the first place.
    The quirks are frustrating at times, but most of the time makes me smile. I just hope to help her get to the point where they don’t control her and so maybe she won’t get picked on. My biggest fear. I don’t like it when kids stare at her (adults too) breaks my heart.

  6. eof737 says:

    I love it… Yo, Yo is so NY… maybe it is time to move here 😉

  7. We’re also having trouble taking turns when it comes to something that belongs to Little Miss… we get a very loud “NO! [LITTLE MISS’S!]” or a [LITTLE MISS] DO IT!” and that’s the end of the turn-taking exercise for everyone. Compared with the 2-year-old boy Little Miss plays with down the street, she is MUCH more possessive of her things. Poor, H- (our friend down the street) has been batted away from Little Miss’s toys on more than one occasion!

    You’ve already read about a lot of Little Miss’s quirks — it was fun to see Tootles’s! What’s interesting is how a lot of his quirks come out verbally — like talking about walls or telling you that your turn is over!

  8. Grace says:

    I didn’t think of the New York thing. I figured two possible scenarios: Either Tootles thinks every toy he wants to play with is called a yoyo, or he’s been hanging out with T-Pain too much.

Leave a Reply

