A Meme Post – Quick Run Away… (No, just kidding-stay!)

How I usually feel when trying to figure out what to post...

My sweet, anonymous friend, Broot over at Craving a Little Perspective is sharing a bloggy award she received with anyone who read her post about it. Of course, I read it.
Instead of sharing 10 things about herself, she chose to answer 10 questions from another blog.

At first, I did not want anything to do with another meme, but when I read the questions she used to modify the award, I thought it was delicious reading and decided to join in.

Her questions were fun, but I modified a couple to suit me.  It seemed like a good break for the weekend, and I didn’t have to think too much.  Thanks Broot!

Here are the 10 questions I chose and their answers:

1. If you could watch only one movie for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Wouldn’t that be a horrible punishment?  Not for my son, of course.  He’d be content to watch the same movie over and over, until the next Happy Meal came out advertising the next important movie through the toy…

But if I had to, I’d pick the story I love best, which is also extremely nerdy and silly:  The Hitchhiker’’s Guide to the Galaxy – but not the actual “movie” – the original BBC TV series.  I liked it way better and I love Douglas Adams’ sense of humor and his writing style.  I could recite lines from that movie til I dropped dead and never get tired of them.

Does that count?  Well, it counts for me.  If you think not, then I’ll throw in that I’d probably pick The 40 Year Old Virgin because it makes me laugh.  Repeatedly.

2.  Let’s say someone wrote a screenplay about you; what actor/actress would you choose to play you and why?

Pia Zadora because I have been told by a few people that I look like her.  Actually, she may have looked like me at one time but I’m pretty sure we’re worlds apart now.  And since she’s a crappy actress, I’d really choose her to be the understudy to Reese Witherspoon – who I would really love to look like and because she is a great actress.

Pia Zadora

Me

Not much resemblance right?

I used to have bangs & big hair like that though

3.  What’s the first movie you remember seeing in theaters?

I must be remembering something from before I was born, given my “tender” age, but I did go as a very, very young child to see Bedknobs and Broomsticks… (I’m sure it must’ve been in a re-release….

4.  Speaking of Doppelgängers, have any of your family members ever been told they look like someone famous?

My husband has been told he looks like Mickey Rourke but I think he looks more like Gary Shandling.  (Note how I do not interject any emotion or commentary into this part for the sake of my mental health).

5.  Do you prefer communicating through Facetime/Skype, Facebook, Twitter, email, or a blog? (Or none of the above?)

I love the versatility of all of these methods but I’m mostly a blogger, Twitter fan.  And the only time I’ve used Facetime is with Jessica and we were a couple of nerdy girls thrilled with the futuristic weirdness of talking on our phones and seeing each other.  It was kinda bizarre.  Reminded me of the old episodes of The Jetsons where Jane, the wife, would put a picture up in front of the video display for her phone because she had a mud mask on or something…  Jane Jetson was ahead of her time…in more ways than one! (Haha!)

6.  Name one actor/actress who you would give anything to have a dinner date with.

Oprah Winfrey.  Technically, she is an actress and one of the most powerful women in the world. Who wouldn’t want a chance to make this powerhouse a friend?

7. What’s the worst movie you’ve ever seen?

Dr. T and the Women.  Always loved Richard Gere but blah- that was the worst thing I ever watched.

8.  Do you sneak snacks into the theater when you go?

I used to be chicken to bring in my own snacks but my husband did it from the time we first started dating and I actually came around.  I absolutely have done it.  I would buy the drinks at the theater because they were too big for the bag I carried back in the day (not now) but brought my own candy because it’s ridiculously overpriced. Truthfully though, I’m speaking in the past tense because have not been to a movie since my last attempt with my son when he was about 2 years old.

9.  Movie theater popcorn: love or hate it?

Love it!  The more butter the better!

10.  What is the all-time best Disney movie in your opinion?

I really don’t like Disney movies at all. Maybe that’s too un-American but it’s true.  They are altogether too sad (or have overwhelmingly sad parts) and I try to avoid them.  I still like the first Toy Story movie and National Treasure because National Treasure is not like a Disney movie.

That was fun and easy.  Like Broot, I’m pretty lax about this whole bloggy award thing, but if you are running out of ideas for a post, feel free to take these questions to your own blog, modify them, answer some or all.  After being pelted with a couple memes, the excitement has worn off and I don’t want anyone to feel I’ve left them out!  So, anyone who reads here can have at it – it was actually lots of fun!  And I would love to read your answers!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Meme Post – Quick Run Away… (No, just kidding-stay!)

  1. @ #9 Yeah baby!!! I miss the US popcorn!! We don’t get microwave AND the popcorn at the movies is mostly stale, bland and with no extra butter!! I know, crazy, huh?? Our last attempt was about a month ago, we went to watch RIO hoping my son would like it. He watched the first 15 minutes, then spent the next half hour running around (we were at the front and everyone else was at the back so he wasn’t really bothering anyone) and then decided we should leave. So we watched the first half. All in all a success, I think. Maybe next year he’ll sit for longer. **fingers crossed** I love the movies!

    • solodialogue says:

      That’s pretty good getting through that long of a stay. The longest we made it when I last went was about 20 minutes through all the previews. The movie started and we had to leave to avoid an otherwise extremely disgruntled audience of movie watchers….
      Our ABA says the program they run for this is that you have to go over and over and just stay a few minutes longer each time, getting reinforced (usually with some type of candy) and then leave on a high note, each time going a little bit longer… I wonder if the theaters cooperate with this so that you don’t go bankrupt learning to make it through a movie?! Lol!

    • Broot says:

      In your son’s defence, Rio is pretty boring, as movies go. We watched it last night and my kids were walking away to play with toys before they got half way through. There are way better movies out there!!

  2. eof737 says:

    Loved your answers and they are another way to get to know you… Yeah, the food prices in movie theaters are insane. I bring my own food and buy an overpriced drink like others do. 🙂

  3. Broot says:

    Breaking the rules is fun, isn’t it! Well done! I like your questions better. 🙂

  4. I’ve never brought food into the theater, but I have smuggled in those airplane-sized bottles of liquor… yes, I know. I know! But even the worst movie is sooooooo much better when you can dump a couple of those itty bitty bottles of Jack Daniels into your super-sized Coke! 😛

  5. Big Daddy says:

    As president of the Pia Zadora fan club, I resent the “crappy actress” comment. However, I will over look this slight if, when you’re handng with Oprah, you slip her a copy of my book.

  6. Jen says:

    I love Q & As! Very fun read! I’m going to the Oprah surprise spectacular tonight here in Chicago and I’ll tell her you’d like to have dinner. There will only be about 20,000 other people there so my chances of talking to her are great! 😉

Leave a Reply

