Late Spring Storms.

We’ve been having the weirdest late Spring California weather I can remember.  There is rain, wind and hail.  There are thunderstorms.  In the middle of it all, there are little glimmers of blue sky and sun.  The weather fit my day.

First, I dropped the T off for preschool.  I had to hurry to the office to complete my big paper project for Court.  The project that requires me to be the anti-green consumer.  When will the Court get with it and go green?  Everything has to be filed in duplicate!  I went through three reams of 500 sheets of paper each today.  1500 pages!!

As I was copying and editing and signing, our ABA senior tutor sent me this text from the preschool:

“Tootles just initiated asking K to jump.  It was sooo cool!”

I was sad to miss it but excited!  My little boy was asking one of his preschool buddies to play with him!! Yay!  There is a little suspended bridge across some play equipment where the kids jump.  I knew that was what she was talking about.  Without a prompt, he sought out a playmate to join him!  This was truly a social coup!

Within a minute, a second text came:

“He just asked kids to play chase independently!”

What kind of happy is that?  My son is learning to talk to and play with his classmates!  Wow!  This is progress.  I was teary-eyed.  This is something so natural for neurotypical kids.  My son, on the other hand?  He does not do this.  Wait.  Did not do this.  Now, he does!

Just after receiving this exciting and happy news, in the middle of my work project, my dad stopped by my office to tell me that there was something wrong with my mom.  Her blood sugar shot up and would not come down.  She was shaking.  Now, I was worried.  As you may recall, my mom was in the hospital for a month back in March and went home in early April.  She is very delicate.

He got her home and took her temperature.  She had a fever of 100.6.  Off to Urgent Care, per her primary physician.  Urgent care then transferred her to the Emergency Room because her blood sugar dived down to 47.  She is now again, admitted to the hospital with an elevated white cell count.

As I ran to get the phone to answer a call updating me about my mom, I slipped and fell.  I felt immediate pain in my left knee.  I don’t know what’s wrong there.  No one was home but me and Tootles.  He brought me the phone.  The hubs came home and got me ice but I cannot walk yet.

Again, my little boy is growing and came to my rescue.  He hugged me.  He asked me “What’s wrong mommy?”  He was sooo good.

Everything about my little boy is wondrous and beautiful.  He is my patch of blue sky and sun.  I hope the storm will blow over soon.  I need a lot more blue sky.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Late Spring Storms.

  1. Yay! And YAY! But not for your mom … and your knee … you know. I’m right there with you on delaying medical treatment for us … we’re too busy looking after everyone else. ((hugs)) girl.

  2. Way to go T! I’m so happy fro both of you!

    We’ll be sending healing thoughts your way — for both you and your mom. Hope everything turns out to be OK!

  3. Grace says:

    You get updates from your son’s teacher by text??? I sent my son’s teacher an email last week asking her to call me so we could have a conversation on the DL. She got back to me 4 days later.

    And dear goddess, I hope everything’s ok with your mom and your knee. Enough, already!! You need a break. Or vodka.

  4. Tootleslady says:

    GOOD JOB TOOTLES!!!!!

  5. C... says:

    OMG poor you about falling and the news about your mom, but YAY on your little man turning a leaf on being more social and worrying about you. 🙂 I hope you did not sustain a bad injury.

  6. Big says:

    OK. Talk about mixed emotions. Great news on the “initiating play” front. That really is a big deal.

    Hope your mom (and your knee) are alright.

  7. eof737 says:

    Good Lord! I do hope you feel better… Don’t wait too long. If the compresses don’t work see your doctor. I hope your mom is doing better too… Karen, sending you healing light and love. Be strong!
    E

  8. danidawn says:

    Fabulous news about your son 🙂 I feel bad about your mom. I hope she is better. You really don’t do anything 1/2 way do you **laughing** I hope your feeling better today.
    Late spring storms are both wonderful & not so much. I am happy your son is your patch of blue sky as PA is mine. Even if life dosn’t always follow the course you want it to.
    Be carfull 🙂 Sweetie and no more running on the bare floors in socks. We are not 12 😉 again

  9. Broot says:

    Yay Tootles!! Hope your Mom is okay and your knee is better soon!

Leave a Reply

