Dispelling Myths with Autism Jokes…

I’m quite certain none of you think I can do a short post.  Lynn, are you there? Well, here’s to dispelling that myth today.  And in the spirit of dispelling myths…

Did you think you would ever see a person with autism doing standup?  I’ve thought about it off and on.  Then I found it  – have you heard of Byron Filler?

I really did not think there was a stand up autism comedian out there.  He has some rough edges.  I watched him on other You Tube videos and at “Funny or Die” where he used the “R” word which I do not condone.  At all.

I am a bit torn because he’s doing something that so breaks stereotypical molds of people with autism that I do admire him and laugh at a lot of what he has to say.  Some of it is not so funny.

Here is the link to the bit where he did use the “R” word…

I think that by doing stand up, he dispels so many myths about autism.  I just wish he weren’t so politically incorrect.  Tell me what you think of Byron Filler.  That is all – for today.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Dispelling Myths with Autism Jokes…

  1. I think he’s wonderful. Quite funny, quite sharp, educational too.

    (When you said he wasn’t politically correct, I was expecting along the lines of some of my humor. But no, he’s nowhere near that bad. 🙂 )

  2. Amanda says:

    All the people with autism I know (except 1) have the most interesting and addictive sense of humor. I think it’s because they use such an different way to describe things than most of us would. Byron reminds me so much of my son in a way…in about 8 years or so. 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      He’s honing his craft, isn’t he? My son’s not old enough to have developed a sense of humor. I still find myself laughing with him (not at him) almost every day. 🙂

  3. Lynn says:

    I’m not offended in the least, but I didn’t link to the “r” word one. I wasn’t offended by this one, but I also didn’t laugh much. I liked the line about the cussing and spitting person being the teacher. But the bit about not being interested in a visual for more than 5 minutes didn’t make sense to me relative to visual stims, etc, which most autistic people could look at ad nauseum. Maybe he just meant faces. Congrats on the shortest post ever!

    • solodialogue says:

      I was confused about losing interest after 5 minutes as well… I think he does have some funny stuff – he just needs to weed out the rest. Thanks for the congrats – you know I was thinking of you! 🙂

  4. Julie says:

    I thought he was good and talented but young. I used to work for a comedy club and have seen a lot of comedians, he just needs to work on his timing. I went to the link and quite frankly, he used to word retarded in an appropriate way – the person addressing him was doing so in such a way that they appeared to be mentally retarded. I’ll keep an eye on this kid – I think with a lot of practice, he could do some great things.

    • solodialogue says:

      You learn something new every day… That must’ve been an interesting job. Maybe, I did not listen closely enough to his use of the word… I find him fascinating… There is a lot more on You Tube if you look – not all of it is funny – but he’s trying (and so young)!

  5. Flannery says:

    Good for him for having the guts to get up there and do his thing, and to spotlight his disability.

    Good for you for the short post!!

  6. I liked the kid. He has guts. I have a feeling he and Little Miss could have some fun together 😉

  7. Amanda says:

    Off topic: Karen, is it possible to enable email on your blogger account? Just asking as it can be so practical at times to reply to a comment via email.

  8. Grace says:

    I think his act needs work, but I like that he’s out there doing his thing. I don’t like people who take themselves too seriously. If it weren’t for self-deprecating humor, I wouldn’t have a blog. I didn’t think he was edgy or politically incorrect at all, but that probably says more about me than it does about him.

    • solodialogue says:

      I like people who don’t take themselves too seriously too! He’s so young. I think he has lots of time to refine his act. He’s definitely on his way!

  9. Brian says:

    I see some controversy. Look, the post is short, yes. But you have to watch a video, which lasted much longer than the post did. I would argue that this was even longer than normal. Entertaining, though.

  10. eof737 says:

    That is terrific. he did a great routine and you’ve got to applaud him for his fearlessness. 😉

Leave a Reply

