The Beginning and End of Melodrama.

Okay, okay, I admit it.  I’m a closet soap opera watcher.  Have been forever.  There is only one that I’ve been loyal to all these many years.  It’s one of the two that are ending in September of this year.  And when I found that out, I was in shock.

This part of my life has followed me from childhood, through teen years, college, law school and all my adult life.  Let me give you an idea how ingrained this show is in my life.  The ABA tutors ran a program with my son where they taught him to answer questions relating to personal information about himself.  “What is your favorite color?”  “Blue”  “What is your favorite toy?”  “Pinball.”  “What is your favorite TV show?”  “All My Children”  Oops – that was mommy’s.

The one thing I don’t give up for my son is my 40 minutes (TiVo) of soap time 5 days a week.  During that 40 minutes – nobody bugs mommy.  After some time spent weeping uncontrollably over this loss of 40 minutes per day when I completely zone out the rest of the world, I wonder what I will now fill this time with.  In the middle of my pondering, I hear:

“LET”S PLAY THE CHOO-CHOO GAME! THE CHOO-CHOO GAME!”  Yes, that is top volume.  I am distracted.  This means my son has injured himself.  After two more recitations of this “choo-choo” business, I look at him on the floor.  He is on the carpet, having tripped over one of his toys.  The following ensues:

Me:  “Say ouch.”

Him:  “Ouch.”

Me:  “What did you do?”

Him:  “Are you okay?”

Me:  “Are you okay?”

Him:  “Yes.” (softly now)  He gets up and walks away to play with something.

I rarely get the actual event that has caused this violently, melodramatic recitation.  I’ve come to learn that the boo-boo suffered is never nearly as fatal as the lamentation that follows.  The words, “What did you do?” never get a response.  I guess he must feel the past is the past and he is going to focus on the present immediate pain.  My question must be superfluous in his world.

I go back to wondering how I will fill the time void of no more Erica Kane weddings, when again, the little one appears before me with a plastic car and balloon.  Looking at the contraption, he says, “That’s between you and Trista,” rather matter-of-factly.  “Yes,” I answer.  “That is between you and Trista.  Mommy does not know how to work that thing.”  (Trista is his senior tutor in ABA).

“Or you can ask Jessica,” I added.

“NO, Trista!” he says.

“Why?  Are you mad at Jessica?” I ask.

“No.  Yes!” he says upon reflection.

“Because she was gone at Court for a long time?” I inquire.

“Want to play with that!”  he answers (not) and walks away to play with another toy.

Hmm.  Since Jessica has returned from the trial, he is either trying to get her full attention or shunning her.  He prefers hanging out with his tutors, our law clerk, Mary or me (sadly in that order).  Jessica must work to regain her status as #1 in his life.

Mischievous Plotting...

I have come to recognize that my son is a living version of a daytime drama.  He has the melodramatic emotional outbursts of a diva, the social shunning of his beloved, long time girlfriend Jessica, turning to his steadfast tutor for play and mom for advice and comfort.

I guess everything happens for a reason.  Goodbye, Pine Valley.  Apparently, I won’t have time for you anymore, anyway.

I’ll be co-starring in my son’s daytime drama as the ever-concerned, protective mother of the melodramatic, accident prone, fickle 5 year old playboy.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The Beginning and End of Melodrama.

  1. Lizbeth says:

    Baahhh! I actually had someone tell me ages ago that watching a soap opera was good for spectrum children–wait let me finish–because they are so melodramatic and over the top that the kids can start to see some emotions and how they’re played out. I think it does hold some truth–I’d never cry so easily or hysterically over loosing my husband to my sister’s best friend…joke people, its a joke.

    • solodialogue says:

      Oh – a joke, right… 😉

      I can tell you, my little guy is only interested through the song. Then, he’s gone. (Although, he’s actually said – “Wanna watch All My Children” before when he’s trying to get my attention. Lol!

  2. “melodramatic, accident prone, fickle 5 year old playboy” — I love it! Now we just have to come up with a title for the show… “As the Choo-Choo Wheel Turns” — “All My Batman Guys” — “General Firetruck” ?? Hmmmm…. gonna have to think on that one 😉

  3. Momfever says:

    It’s hard when they take away your favourite soap opera. I know, ’cause I’ve been there. But as it turns out, you get something back: more time during the day. So fear not, things will look up!

  4. Mom was loyal to The Young & The Restless, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t know that All My Children and Erika were synonymous, and that they’ve been around as far back as I can remember. When Susan Lucci spent all those years as an Emmy finalist and I spend all those years as an EPPIE finalist, I might have noted the similarity. I never even saw the show and I’m gonna miss it.

  5. Amanda says:

    Oh no, soap operas should not end. That’s just wrong. But I had to laugh in recognition when I read your last sentence. 🙂

  6. I had long lost track of those darn soaps…but when I heard they were ending it was very sad. Your lil one is just a cutie pie!!

    • solodialogue says:

      I could catch you up… It might take a couple of days of me talking non-stop but you’re used to that right? 😉 (Thanks – I think he’s pretty cute too – not that I’m biased or anything!)

  7. This I would not have guessed- you watch soaps? Good for you, you’ve got to do something relaxing for yourself everyday! Better find something else to do in those 40 minutes before someone else snatches them up. Cute picture of your son!

  8. danidawn says:

    I use to LOVE watching All My Children… After I got married my hubby would make fun of me so I stopped watching. I hope you will be able to find something else to fill that 40 min. It is a good thing to have a little bit of time to yourself (even if it’s not really).
    I use to think my 16yr old was dramatic untill I started watching PA. She is by far the most dramatic kid/person I have ever known. I wonder if it is a trait of alot of kids with special needs. Would make a great show as others have pointed out.

    • solodialogue says:

      No one could stop me watching regardless of what I must endure! I’m sure the little one will keep me plenty busy… or maybe I will just end up on Twitter 40 extra minutes a day! Lol! Our ASD kids are quite the little dramatic ones, aren’t they?

  9. Meg says:

    This was hysterically funny. I love it, and all the drama. My own mother is the drama queen. This morning she sent out emails to all the family describing in detail the back operation that she was scheduled for today, along with all the people who must drive her to and fro. It turned out to be one injection, not an operation. Further, all my family including myself, called her to ask how she was, and my brother answered explaining to all and sundry that she wasn’t in ‘the mood’ to talk. Bahahaha. So, Karen, I can provide you with drama if you wish. No worries. Thanks for the fun.

  10. eof737 says:

    I wondered about that when I read the news of the two shows ending… They have followers who have watched for many. many years…. Cheer up! Tootles will keep you occupied. 🙂
    E

Leave a Reply

