The Young and the Restless – An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

[Jessica is my 5 year old son’s 25 year old best friend. She teaches him appropriate times to use cool words like “Scrilla scrill!” and “Come on!” when playing video games, shares snacks with him, runs around with him, and acts as his “reward” when he completes a behavioral therapy program.  She gets together with “Tootles” as she calls him, weekdays at the office where we work and sometimes, on weekends at home.

Jessica is a regular contributor to this blog.  Her posts appear here every other Saturday – when I can get them out of her… (and give Mommy a little break!) So, here it is now… Please enjoy”Adventures with Tootles!”]

I haven’t seen Tootles in roughly two months (thus no guest posts from me). It’s been a long, torturous time for me. I would constantly text Tootles’ mommy to see how my little buddy was doing and what he was up to.  I left notes for Tootles and his mommy before Court on a few days.  I hella missed him!

Finally, it was Tootles birthday! I was gonna be able to see him! I was STOKED!

I drove what seemed like 1000 miles to get to his house.  I showed up and was ready to get my party on with my little buddy! I had it totally planned out in my mind as to how it would be. Finally reunited!!

My idea of what my entrance to the party would be like:

Yeah, kinda like this...

I walk in, hair perfectly curled and blowing in the wind. Tootles sees me from afar. We both open our arms and do the outstretched-arm-run-towards-each-other-in-slo-mo thing! Of course, I’m looking very modelish, hair still blowing and perfect.

We finally reach each other! HUGS!! Then Tootles tells me everything that he knows about Bat-Man and the evil Joker…. We are still buddies and the world is back to normal.

Reality:

 Love Triangle…

I walk in, hair kinda sucking it – sticking to my face cause of the rain and wind. Tootles sees me not from afar.   He walks right past me and goes up to Trista (his new FAVORITE buddy) and tells HER all about Bat-Man and the evil Joker. He gives Trista a hug and then runs off to bask in the fact that he gets new toys very soon. I try to unstick the hair from my face and hope that I look quasi-decent while I walk around and meet some new peeps.

Reaching out - left hanging...

TOOTLES!  What happened?! We used to be best buds! Ever since I have been around the office after my “sabbatical”,  Tootles has either given me the cold shoulder or told me to drive away on my motorcycle. (I don’t have one.) I feel like we are scorned lovers from a soap opera.  I had a brain transplant (typical soap opera storyline…) [Editor’s note: What?  The fake death and evil twin is the standard storyline – duh].  And now Tootles won’t love me cause I am not the same!

One minute, he’s angry,

Upset to...

Laughter, the next minute,

Oh, the laughter and love that follow...

One minute I’m being treated like a princess… The next, I am being punished…

We will will have to wait to see what happens next week on…. Adventures with Tootles (Cue bad soap opera drama music!!!)

[Solodialogue’s Note:  Jessica’s Adventures with Tootles shows what I consider a very healthy, accepting and nonjudgmental relationship by someone who knew my son, but did not know autism and then has the word “autism” introduced into the equation.  True, that when I told her of his diagnosis, I was a little taken aback at her blunt – so what- approach.  But since that day, she has shown me how adding a “label” to certain behaviors does not have to change a relationship between my son and others, and between others and me.  She’s shown me that autism is irrelevant to who we really are inside.  And she’s shown me that what I sometimes view with worry and fear, can be viewed with laughter, tickles, and love.  Jessica can be found on Twitter @squidkisses.  She freely taunts all who engage her…]

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Young and the Restless – An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

  1. C... says:

    What a great friendship! 🙂 And yes autism should not define the person and how anyone interacts with them in general. I mean you have some things that are different but everyone is different.

    • solodialogue says:

      They do have a lot of very funny times together. And yes, Jessica was the first person to show total, complete acceptance of my son’s diagnosis – without even blinking. We love her a lot! 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Those pictures are priceless. You can tell he’s thinking “Where have you been? I’m mad at you” and then “but not too much!” 🙂

  3. Kelly says:

    I love the hair blowing in the breeze, run into outstretched arms image. Absolutely perfect! Hopefully, Jessica, Tootles will forgive your sabbatical very soon. I think maybe bribing with ice cream is in order. *crickets*
    Ok, maybe that just works on me. 😦

    • solodialogue says:

      I don’t know – he’s very hot and cold with Jessica right now… He seems to have moved on. Lol! I’m not looking forward to the teen girlfriend years. Can you imagine the dates that AJ and Ted will have?! We will have some good stories in the future. 😉

  4. ElizOF says:

    Oh boy… they start young don’t they? LOL! 😳
    Good thing you gave us some insight on this yesterday…
    Hope all gets back to hugs soon. 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      It was strange that we were both thinking the same thing. She wrote it before mine came out and then we just figured we’d go with it – along the same theme! Lol!

  5. Samantha says:

    Three cheers for Jessica!! All of our kiddos need a buddy like her…:)

Leave a Reply

