The Graduate.

14 months ago, I got a diagnosis.  It was scary.  I did not understand whether my son would make it with the regular kids.  I still don’t know.  I do know that Thursday, in the late afternoon, he ceremoniously graduated from “pre-school”, a tiny step on the educational ladder he must climb.

There are no grades here.  No pass-fail issues.  No requirements.  But it is a structure with goals.  A place where he has learned many skills.  Sitting still for circle time.  Cutting down on self-talk out loud.  Preparing lots of art work involving, cutting, writing, and gluing.

Art Projects from preschool... the early days...

I’m proud of every single piece of paper he’s brought home, showing me how he is able to express an understanding of the concepts being taught.  His face always lights up when he shows me an art project from school but probably not near as much as mine lights up looking at it.

He has grown to love the preschool.  No more tears when I say goodbye at the front door. He is off to do circle time with his ABA tutor!  It’s a good thing.  The ABA tutor prompts him when he loses attention or needs to respond.

When we arrived at the preschool for graduation, his teacher, basically, kicked me out of the room, so all the kids could get together, put their cap and gown on and get ready for the “program” outdoors.  Since I was kicked out, I went outside to see the seating.  It was empty and warm.

The ceremony set up.

All the NT parents had started arriving just after I snapped this picture, so I found a place up front and sat down.  Since my son’s senior tutor was with him, I was not worried at all. It was actually nice to have the few moments to myself.

It wasn’t long though, before the little kids all came out in their adorable cap and gowns.  Well, everyone else had the cap and gown.  My kid had the gown.  I knew he’d refuse to keep that cap on his head!

No cap here...

Cap or no, he was a doll out there!  Getting his “diploma”,

Strutting around like he was on a runway,

and then getting ready to release balloons with the other kids!

And the joy of watching them fly free!

It was hot and sunny out there where they sang and the little guy did not complain of the heat.  He did fearlessly make it the whole time without wandering off completely or stripping naked, something else to be grateful for!

My little boy is just a tiny touch older and wiser now.

He’s a little graduate!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Graduate.

  1. Flannery says:

    He is so freaking adorable, I can’t stand it! And his face is so beautiful, he don’t need no stinking cap to get in the way.

    It might not be smooth sailing, but there will be many good days ahead. For all of us. I truly believe that.

  2. solodialogue says:

    Thanks girl! You put a big smile on my face this morning! ❤

  3. Jen says:

    AWWWWW…..SO cute! You must be so proud. I love the balloon release idea. My son would be right there with Tootles, cap less and maybe even trying to rip that gown off. But a graduate just the same! Congrats Tootles!

  4. I’ve got tears in my eyes, Karen. TEARS!

    He is so handsome and wow… what a wonderful accomplishment. Congratulations to BOTH of you!!!

  5. Cara says:

    Awww he’s so cute in these pictures, just as he was last night! Awww, he’s a big boy now!!!

  6. Those pictures are so, so, SO cute. I love the balloon release one and agree that’s an awesome idea!

  7. Broot says:

    Congrats, Tootles!! That’s a pretty cool ceremony. 🙂

  8. eof737 says:

    Congratulations Tootles! You look very handsome in your cap and gown. TY! 🙂

  9. Danica says:

    Amazing the progress he has made. He is really adorable in his gown and he looks very proud. I know you are very proud of him.

Leave a Reply

