Tacos, juice and a little somethin’ extra – An Adventure with Tootles Tale!

[If you know this blog you know Jessica.  She is my 5 year old son’s 25 year old best friend. She’s teaching him to use exclamation like “wicked cool!” and “lame!” and now sings “We’re all at school “togedder”.  She hangs with “Tootles” as she calls him, weekdays at the office where we work and sometimes, on weekends at home.

Jessica regularly contributes to this blog.  Her posts appear here every other Saturday – when I can get them out of her… So, now that I’m back with Tootles’ duty… She’s back with “Adventures with Tootles!”]

I would like to start off this edition of  Adventures with Tootles by saying that I am sorry for not keeping up the blog while Karen was away. I have a SUPER valid reason that no one can know about just yet….. I’ll give it up soon enough…..

Tootles and I were out one day after one of his many appointments (this kid has a bigger social calendar than me!).  I needed to eat.  I asked Tootles if he wanted a Jamba Juice.  He agreed that would be a tasty treat on a 100 degree day.

Tootles had been wired all day, like he broke into a grocery store and ate all the cakes and doughnuts or just poured pure sugar down his throat. He was singing laughing and making himself laugh about the weirdest things. He was oddly well mannered for me though.

He was also making weird comments.

“Mommy is a princess”

“Do you like tents?” he asked, followed by  “Jessica lives in a tent” (I don’t!) and “Did you see a blue tent?”

Anyway, Tootles and I got to the juice place.  I asked him, “What flavor does mommy get you?” I didn’t think that he would respond with anything super serious. He looked up at me and said “I like orange!”

OK!!!  I am totally not used to quick, on-topic, responsiveness!

Orange it is for you!!

He sat and waited like the best-mannered, kid EVERRRRRR!!! (I’m super lucky, I know.) I got our drinks and since Tootles was being so awesome, I figured that I might as well cash in on this perfect little angel and stop right next door and get us some tacos.

We went over.  I placed our order and we sat and waited. It was lunch and everyone was eating like they were at a funeral. Not one word in the whole place. We were sitting
there drinking our juices.  Everything was calm and quiet.

All of a sudden, he looked at me and smiled a weird little smile.

An older photo but you get the idea...

The next thing I knew, he yelled “I FART ON DISNEY PRINCESSES!!”

Everyone in the place got whiplash from trying to grab a look at the screaming boy. A few burst into laughter. Tootles, very amused with himself, started laughing….

I slowly put my head down and started to think that Tootles probably hates me since this
is the SECOND time that he has talked about farting in public places with me.  At least this time he wasn’t accusing me of it!

Then, I started to think about what he was saying earlier.

“Mommy is a princess”

Hmmmmmmmmm……. Maybe he is plotting…..

I won’t say anything and just see what happens!

Tootles was such an angel the rest of the day. He ate the taco and drank the juice and kept
using full and complete sentences. This is rare unless they are part of a movie or a cartoon.

Tootles is the best.

Even if he does like to scream about farting.

[Solodialogue’s Note:  Jessica’s Adventures with Tootles shows what I consider a very healthy, accepting and nonjudgmental relationship by someone who knew my son, but did not know autism and then has the word “autism” introduced into the equation.  True, that when I told her of his diagnosis, I was a little taken aback at her blunt – so what- approach.  But since that day, she has shown me how adding a “label” to certain behaviors does not have to change a relationship between my son and others, and between others and me.  She’s shown me that autism is irrelevant to who we really are inside.  And she’s shown me that what I sometimes view with worry and fear, can be viewed with laughter, tickles, and love.  Jessica can be found on Twitter @squidkisses.  She freely taunts all who engage her…]

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tacos, juice and a little somethin’ extra – An Adventure with Tootles Tale!

  1. Kelly Hafer says:

    Ah, Jessica. I missed your stories. And, actually, feel blessed that you were out with a five year old talking about farting and placing blame where it doesn’t belong. My dad does that. He doesn’t have a (diagnosed) condition that we know of. He just likes to be a wanker in public. Not cool when a 63 year old man accuses you of letting one rip in a crowded grocery isle. Especially when HE is the one who did it. 😦

  2. Broot says:

    I love it. And for the record, my NT children talk about farts in public all the time. As loudly as they dare. Actually, the latest one is to yell “hickey, hickey, bum, bum” at the top of their lungs. 😉 And no, I don’t encourage them. And yes, I’m glad you’re back, too, Jessica!! Can’t wait to hear what the valid reason is! Sounds exciting. 🙂

  3. ElizOF says:

    What a funny selection of stories… I bet your little one is pleased. 😉

Leave a Reply

