Finding Faith.

He who has faith has an inward reservoir of courage, hope, confidence, calmness, and assuring trust that all will come out well – even though to the world it may appear to come out most badly.  

B.C. Forbes

Faith is a difficult and controversial topic.  Each of us has times in our lives when the core of of our faith is shaken, disturbed, jolted, diminished or dissolved.  Times like that are hard.  We want to give up.  But, for whatever reason, we can’t.  Whether it comes from a belief in a higher power or from deep within our own souls, we find a way to restore our faith.  To get up in the morning and start all over again.

I’m lucky.  My reason is my son.  The innocence and sweet purity of his love ground me.   His smile brings me happiness.  His laughter and his voice are my music.  He is growing but for all intents and purposes, he is still helpless.  He needs me.  And the beauty of that is that, through him, I find a reason to restore my faith even when days are hard.

With faith, stress recedes and peace can be found.

So many things can put color in life when you feel drained.  We all get tired fighting battles.  So tired that it pulls the color from the simple things in life.  Faith puts that color back.

Going for a walk, the goal can be simply to finish, and the focus on the road ahead.   With the eyes of a child, the goal can be the walk itself, and instead of the road, one can enjoy the flowers next to the road or a simple fallen leaf with its patterns and hues of green.  Instead of hearing traffic, or a plane overhead, there is the soft background of crickets at dusk.

As the coolness of fall slowly makes it’s way into the hot valley, where I live, if I let go of the bad stuff, I notice the breeze floating past, bringing calm, releasing tension.  For a few minutes, I feel rejuvenated and calm.  I have long ago surrendered to the fact that everything happens for a reason, whether I am in on the secret or not.  That belief, that faith, sustains a perspective that keeps me happy, that keeps me in the light.

When you are in a good place, there is growth, reflection, strength, acceptance and trust.  To get to a good place requires perspective.  Perspective is within our control.  We have to use discipline to find control.  Yes, work is required to change perspective.  An effort has to be made.  When that work is done, the quality of life improves.

Faith is powerful.  Faith is healing.  I hope everyone finds it, even when they believe it has long been lost.

Faith is never really “lost.”  It is given up upon.  Look again – and it will be right in front of you.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Finding Faith.

  1. Kelly Hafer says:

    You are so right. There have been so many times that I have thrown my hands in the air and felt soul-sucking despair try to take over. But you can’t let it. You can’t give up. We can’t ever give up. Too much is riding on us – rather, too many lives and futures are in the balance. And it is up to us individually – and collectively – to fight for them.

  2. What a beautiful and encouraging meditation, Karen! You always write so beautifully — I can tell this comes straight from your heart http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lu3VTngm1F0

  3. I was an atheist before the diagnosis, so I never gave up my faith due to anger or such. I do understand where you’re coming from. I don’t dishonor, disrespect or discourage “faith in god” or Allah or whomever one decides to dedicate their lives to. I respect why people NEED that in their life.

    My faith, that I keep TRYING to keep hold of.. is that in humanity itself. I’m kind to a fault. It goes without saying that I’ve been taken advantage of more times than I can count. Especially from family members. Having a son with Autism, exacerbates my loss of ‘faith in humanity’. Naturally, I will give people the benefit of the doubt. That is getting harder and harder over the years to continue to do so. Now that he’s approaching adulthood.. I am beginning to see things that… I can’t quite explain. I dunno…

    Sometimes I wish I had faith in a god. Sometimes, reality is so hard to face.Everyday, when my kids walk down those stairs, it gives me the strength I need. I suppose my faith lies in my children. My husband. Even my dogs that make me laugh and love me unconditionally. Faith is a beautiful thing. I guess I DO have faith.. just, a different kind of faith.

    That last picture you posted.. the water drop. SUCH a beautiful picture 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      What a beautiful comment, Rhonda! We all find faith where we can. I think everyone has a different take on it but it’s definitely there for every one of us. For all that happens in our lives as parents of autistic children, I think we lose faith more often and look harder than others to find it again, but then there it is… (I love that picture too!)

  4. Denise says:

    When life gets out of control or questions can’t be answered, I try to remember to just keep breathing.
    You’re breathing in Peace! Precious Peace.

  5. Teresa says:

    Thank you for this message today; I needed to hear it.

    “As your faith is strengthened you will find that there is no longer the need to have a sense of control, that things will flow as they will, and that you will flow with them, to your great delight and benefit.”
    Emmanuel Teney

  6. Beautiful!

    “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see…” Hebrews 11:1

  7. ElizOF says:

    Well said and such beautiful pictures… We all need even a little faith in our lives… it takes us far. 🙂

  8. Amanda says:

    Love the pictures! Having faith in my son (you can do this!) definitely helped us get where we are now and hopefully will help us get where we want to be in the future.

Leave a Reply

