The Prophesy.

When I was about 20 years old, my mom went to see a psychic.  She saw a psychic more than that one time.  All the other times she’d been, she would return to say how dumb it was and a waste of time.  Mad at herself for her gullability, she would go long periods where it seemed she had given up on that sort of thing. Then, like clockwork, some friend would say how great some psychic was and off she would go.

The last time she ever went, at least,  to my knowledge, was this time when I was in college.  Why do I remember this?  The psychic said something to her that was brought up to me repeatedly and has stuck with me all this time.

The psychic told her she would have one grandchild.  The grandchild would be a boy and -wait for it – the boy would grow up to be a Senator.  Yes.  Not a public servant.  Not go into some form of politics.  She said he’d be a Senator.

When she first told me, at age 20, and after I stopped laughing, I was pretty, pretty pleased with myself.  After all, I must be some great mom in the future to raise my baby to become such an influential politician.  After all, there are only 100 Senators in the U.S. Congress.  Oh, wait!  Was that the U.S. Congress or the state legislature?  Oh well, guess I’ll have to wait to find out.

Repeatedly, throughout my 20s my mom would remind me of the prophesy and tell me how what the psychic said is going to come true.  Yeah, yeah, I would say.  Ridiculous.  After all, I had entertained no thoughts of having a child then, much less a husband.  I was not sure I would ever have a child at all.

Little T

Then, along came the little T-man.  And, of course, I was reminded again, of the prophesy.  There he is.  The one, male grandchild the psychic had predicted ump-teen million years ago!  Here I was beginning to fulfill the prophesy!

Then, the little guy grew.  He grew out of his onesies and into some little toddler pants.  When his diagnosis came at age 3 years and 10 months.  I was preoccupied with the devastation of that diagnosis, of finding treatments, of looking for support and had forgotten about (or stashed away in my mind) the political prophesy.

How was this kid now going to become a Senator?  What are the odds that someone with a condition that makes him socially awkward, less likely to read social cues, with language and communication disabilities, would become a politician at all, much less a Senator?

Was a little cognitive dissonance creeping into my thought pattern?  Are the concepts of autism and politics opposites?  Not necessarily.

Barriers and beliefs are meant to be stretched and sometimes, broken.  Look at Ari Ne-eman, the first autistic White House appointee.  Regardless of what you believe about his neurodiversity advocacy, he is a successful figure in a political world who has autism.

My opinion?  Whatever my only child, the son with the prophesy, wants to be – he will become.  That’s simply the power of human will.  Human desire.  He will succeed at whatever he sets his little heart and mind to do.  Autism won’t stop him.  It may slow him down.  It may cause him to think and analyze differently, but that will just give him more time to reflect.  He may not see how someone else feels about his opinion but that will just make him an impassioned advocate with an iron will.  And isn’t that something to be admired?

We shall see.  Maybe my mom’s friend was right and that psychic is good.  She has hit two out of three.  Stay tuned.

Dream lofty dreams, and as you dream, so you shall become.  Your vision is the promise of what you shall one day be.  Your ideal is the prophesy of what you shall one day reveal.

James Allen.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Prophesy.

  1. I’ve always been fascinated by psychics… in fact, I used to read tarot cards for my friends. The interesting part — from the point of view of the person doing the reading — is how much information the read-ee will give you in order to get their desired prophesy. Never ceased to amaze me how people would tell you something and then be surprised when you prophesized something similar from their cards…. but I digress.

    I was actually talking with my husband last night regarding careers and futures for Little Miss. I had just finished reading this (http://sfari.org/news-and-opinion/news/2011/people-with-milder-forms-of-autism-struggle-as-adults) and was in a bit of a glum mood over it all. It’s really nice to read about Ari Neeman… gives me a bit happier perspective to start the day. Thank you.

    P.S. On a different topic entirely, you asked for a meme and you got one. Game on! http://beyondthedryervent.blogspot.com/2011/09/cause-what-we-all-really-needed-was.html

    • solodialogue says:

      So most people set themselves up to hear what they want to hear… what a surprise!

      Our kids have such a long time to grow with so many advances that will come in the interim that neither of us need to be concerned with some media b.s. that paints a sad picture. Everything we do today to boost self-assurance and confidence will result in stronger, bolder and more accepted autistic adults. I truly believe it! Little Miss and T are going to be superstars!! (they kinda are already – don’t you think?)

      P.S. As for your different topic? Hmmm, is me and my big mouth appropriate here? I accept your challenge… It’s coming soon! 😉

  2. Absolutely. I think a politician who could see things from a different angle might be a breath of fresh air. And honesty and forthrightness, yep- I think he’d have my vote!
    I saw a dodgy palm reader when I was about 18. I can’t remember all of it, but she said I would have a boy and a girl, and would live overseas. I fulfilled her prophesy!

  3. Lizbeth says:

    My in-laws go to psychics all the time. Then she came back and told us to be careful because we were going to be in an awful car wreck and it never happened. To which she said, “No, it never happened, of course not, my telling you stopped it from happening.” To which I’m still a little confused. But I digress. T is going to be great, famous, kind and understanding. All those things you are teaching him to be. Regardless of what he will become, he will be great.

  4. Kelly Hafer says:

    I have a strong curiosity about psychics. I believe my daughter had a communication with her deceased grandmother when she, my daughter, was around three years old. My hub’s grammy died when Alex was two. Yes, she was precocious, but this was a bit much. One day after waking from her slumber, Alex told me she talked to her grandma. She told me that her grandma had blue eyes (true) and that she told her to be a good girl. Alex had only ever met that grandma once or twice.

    Anyway…

    I wish I were ballsy enough to go to a psychic. I am too afraid that I would get bad news and find out some terrible “thing” and self-fulfill myself into doom. 😦

    • solodialogue says:

      I don’t have any belief in psychics. I wouldn’t relate that dream of Alex to a psychic but it’s weird. Does Alex still remember it? Apparently, she takes that advice seriously from what I’ve heard. 🙂 I thought it was kinda coincidental that 2 out of 3 of the predictions of the psychic my mom saw were right. I always thought it might be fun to go see a psychic but I would never do it. I think I’ll just stick with what comes my way when it gets here…

  5. Amanda says:

    I’ve no doubt that T will become a Senator if he wants to do it. My son may never become a politician but he can already BS like the best of them!

  6. eof737 says:

    As we believe, so we are… I’m totally behind you on this one and your son will become a senator. Why not! … Love this prediction… All things are possible.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

