Move Over Oprah – I’ve Got an Interview to Do…

It begins here.  Throw your rotten fruit my way.  Go ahead, I can take it!  I opened my big mouth over at Beyond the Dryer Vent.  You see, Karla took it upon herself to do a really cool interview of her daughter, Little Miss and I may have mentioned in a comment that I thought interviewing our kids would be a fun and entertaining – wait for it – meme!  Of course, Karla did just that and created that very cool meme button thing at the top of this post, and wrote up questions for a meme.  Then, she tagged me.

Now, after being officially welcomed originally into the meme world by Kelly over at Unplanned Trip to Holland, quite a while back, I felt like one of the popular kids.  That meme actually taught me some things:  (1) how hard these things are to do; (2) the pressure to nor leave your bloggy friend who tagged you hanging and get it done; and (3) to try not to offend anyone by including or excluding them in your tag. Yeah, and my kid is the one with social problems?  Sometimes, I wonder…

Lucky for me, Karla was kind enough to provide some guidance about what the meme is all about:

“This particular meme is a writing prompt. The idea is to learn something important from someone important — our kids. To participate, ask your child a question or two and share their responses — in their own words.”

Then she was kind enough to provide a whole list of questions:

Kids with budding language skills
What’s your favorite color? (you can even ask them to point at picture cards)
Who is the best — Mickey Mouse or Donald Duck?
What’s your favorite TV show?
What’s your favorite food for breakfast? Lunch? Dinner?
Chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry? Which is the best ice cream?
What is your favorite toy?

More developed talkers
What do you want to do when you grow up?
Favorite holiday? What makes it best?
If you could live anywhere, where would move?
Who is your best friend? What do you like about him/her?
What toy would you buy for your best friend’s birthday?
What do you want for your own birthday?
What family rule do you think is the most unfair? Why?

My son definitely falls into the budding language skills department – so here are the questions and his – uh – not quite Tom Cruise/Oprah style interview responses (with a couple questions from the other list):

This almost happened...

But here’s the “oh-no-mom-is-coming-to-talk-to-me-for-the-blog-again” look:

What’s your favorite color?  “BLUH”-  (Editor’s note: blue)

Who is the best — Mickey Mouse or Donald Duck?  “Donald Duck!”

What’s your favorite TV show?   “Spongebob.”  (Editor’s note:  he doesn’t watch this anymore).

What’s your favorite food for breakfast?   “Drink.”

No, what do you like to eat for breakfast?

“Doctor.  Want to go to the doctor.  Let’s go to the doctor.”

No – what do you like to eat for breakfast?  “Fruit snacks.”  (Editor’s note:  He never has fruit snacks for breakfast).

Lunch?   “Fruit snacks.”  (Editor’s note:  Also- rarely has fruit snacks with his actual lunch which is, currently, a bagel).

Dinner?   “Dough-doughs.” (Editor’s note:  These are “mini powdered donuts”.  Also does not have these for dinner).

Chocolate, vanilla, or strawberry?  Which is the best ice cream?

“Chocolate?”

What is your favorite toy?   “Blue Camaro.”  (Editor’s note:  He proceeds to dance to a music button which he pushes on his blue Camaro at this point).

What do you want to be when you grow up?

“Lightning Rod.”  (Editor’s note:  This is a type of toy car he has).

No.  Do you want to be a doctor or work at a toy store, or work on computers…

“Lightning Rod.”

Favorite holiday? Do you like Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Birthday?

“Halloween.”

What makes it best?

“Excavator.”

Yes.  We ended the interview here.  My interviewee walked out.  The nerve…

Well, now there’s only one step left – who to give this to?  I’ll name six – okay- seven people – I want to name everyone on my blogroll but that would be greedy wouldn’t it? Now that I said that 7’s not all that greedy, right?  I want to leave someone to be tagged by others.

So, here you are, ladies! – you are hereby dubbed Honorary Oprahs to interview your little rascals:

Marsupial Mama at Autism Rocks;

Spectrummy Mummy at SpectrummyMummy;

Heather at The A-Word;

Kara at Karacteristic.com;

Broot at Craving a Little Perspective;

Grace from That’s Right I Said It Dot Mom; and

Flannery from Living on the Spectrum: The Connor Chronicles.

I want to get to know the child of everyone who reads here and this is my way of saying so!  Did you use up all your rotten fruit throws at the beginning of this post?  Too bad…

If anyone else wants to volunteer to do an interview of your child(ren), please consider this an open invitation to do so!  And special thanks to Karla… I think.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Move Over Oprah – I’ve Got an Interview to Do…

  1. The kid might have something there…. I think I want to be a lightning rod when I grow up too! And I love how he’d rather go to the doctor than do an interview… oh, smart, smart T. Don’t let on to how much you truly know, buddy!

    Thanks for playing along with the little game. It’s been fun getting to know my bloggy buddies’ kids!

  2. Flannery says:

    Ohhhh, donuts sound good. Your kid has good taste!!!

    Here I am, languishing in semi-retirement, and now you want me to come in from the pool, towel off, and do some work? The nerve!!!

    LOL, I’m all over it…this will be my weekend project.

  3. Grace says:

    I thought Lynn was the new, white Oprah, what with her new book club and all. But now you’re telling me I have to be one of 7 new Oprahs? I will do this, but only if I can wear Jimmy Choos.

    And Karen, really, you can be honest here. It’s OK to feed your son dough doughs for dinner. We won’t judge you.

    Thanks for tagging me in very good company. I hope my bloggy compatriots have better aim with that rotten fruit than I do.

  4. Lizbeth says:

    I’m offended. And you got to tag Flannery before I did, the nerve…
    Anyway, I do believe that you feed T fruit snacks for every meal of the day with a side of donuts. 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      Oh – pul-ezz – I knew Kelly tagged you already! Otherwise – I totally would’ve gotcha. Also, I’m equally offended that I did not get that awesome fire bloggy thingy you were giving out while I was off! 😛 Dang! T busted me bad with those donuts and fruit snacks…

  5. Kelly Hafer says:

    Aww! How awesome. But, counselor, are we to believe that despite the testimony of Tootles, that you have NEVER fed him fruit snacks for breakfast?! Bwahahaha…Lawyer joke…bwahahaha!
    Actually, I need to quickly shut my face because Ted will tell you that a) I have to poop (yes, that’s right. He announces to others that I have to poop.), b) that he eats mac and cheese for every meal, and c) that I love it when he holds his weiner. **This last one is a reference to him attempting to stand and pee. Tell me that isn’t awkward for your toddler to yell in a turnpike bathroom stall!**

    • solodialogue says:

      He never was under oath. How could you trust that testimony?! That YOU have to poop? Oh wow – that’s a pretty cool talent. Mac and cheese has all the nutrients needed. And finally – this is precisely why I do not teach the wiener hold. 😉

  6. Broot says:

    LOL Okay I will get there – I don’t have my children back yet but we shall see what they say. 🙂

  7. ElizOF says:

    I love the responses… and that meme. My kids are too old for this but I could ask them to pretend. 😆 Just kidding. Love it!

  8. Pingback: Interview with The Girl, 5. « Craving a Little Perspective

  9. Samantha says:

    Thanks for sharing a piece of your boy…fun, fun, fun…:)

  10. Pingback: Interview with The Boy, 8. « Craving a Little Perspective

Leave a Reply

