Thanks, in passing.

INTERVIEW OF STEVE JOBS WITH WIRED, 1996

“These technologies can make life easier, can let us touch people we might not otherwise. You may have a child with a birth defect and be able to get in touch with other parents and support groups, get medical information, the latest experimental drugs. These things can profoundly influence life. I’m not downplaying that. But it’s a disservice to constantly put things in this radical new light — that it’s going to change everything. Things don’t have to change the world to be important.”

But you did change the world, Steve Jobs.  And you were one of the most important people in it.  Thank you.

Steve Jobs did not just give me the fun uses and practical uses for the iPad.  He gave my son a stronger voice.  He gave him a tool to use to even the playing field with neurotypical kids.  He gave him the ability to read, to relate to other kids through apps, to blend, to learn social signals in a way that keeps him entertained and engaged.  To strengthen his eyes and his fingers, and to promote his hand-eye coordination. The iPad is unparalleled for an autistic child.

I never thought that much about Steve Jobs.  Really, no thoughts other than the sadness that routinely passed through my head when I heard about his health on the news.  Now, as I type this post on my MacBook, thinking of all the photos I’ve used from my iPhone while my son plays on his iPad, I can understand how I am with Steve Jobs every day, in every post, in every technological and communicative way in my life.

And I’m blogging about the social disability of a child with communicative and language disabilities.  With each passing minute, Steve Jobs, through his innovation and tenacity, lessens the stigma and impact of my son’s disability by giving him skills to compensate, a tool to use for communication.  Steve Jobs will continue to supply the world with the technology that helps bring us all closer to communication with each other for all time.

Steve Jobs did amazing things that impact my life and my son’s life in an unbelievably strong and positive way.  I will be praising and cheering his life here with us instead of mourning his death.   Below is a beautiful quote from Mr. Jobs.  I love it because of the multi-faceted uses it has in life:

Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice.”

Thanks Mr. Jobs.  As I sit here writing this post in my last bit of wakefulness for this day, surrounded by three of the greatest inventions ever (the MacBook, iPhone and iPad) listening to the noise of multiple communicative devices, toys and a television set, I wish you well, Mr. Jobs where-ever you may be.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thanks, in passing.

  1. Lizbeth says:

    I know, I know. He was such an innovator. My son looked up to him like some kids look up to Elmo. We saw the news last night and Alex was crushed. Unlike most kids his age, he knows of Steve Jobs and all wonderful “toys” he has due to him. He asked me who is going to think of new things to go with and further the I-touch/pad/phone now that he’s gone. I made up something about how great people surround themselves with other great people and hopefully he understands that. But yeah, its sad news. We owe a lot of our success to him.

    • solodialogue says:

      Your descriptions of Alex amaze me. That boy is brilliant in his own right! And yes, it is a great loss but also the great gifts he’s given all of us should be celebrated, don’t you think?

  2. Kelly Hafer says:

    This is really off topic here, but I just want to say, Karen, that your son is incredibly beautiful. Jeesh, he is a doll!

  3. ElizOF says:

    Beautiful… He was a great marketer of technologies created by his team of experts. May he rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

