Secrets and Lies and all that is juicy….An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

 

[If you know this blog you know Jessica.  She is my 5 year old son’s 25 year old best friend. She’s teaching him to use exclamation like “wicked cool!” and “lame!” and now sings “We’re all at school “togedder”.  She hangs with “Tootles” as she calls him, weekdays at the office where we work and sometimes, on weekends at home.]

I would like to start out by saying that I am sorry, again, for not keeping up on the blog while Karen was away. I feel especially bad seeing how, now that she is back, she has posted everyday non-stop. Way to put me in bad light!

Just a couple days before I was supposed to take over blog duty back in July, something happened. Something exciting and juicy!  Can you keep a secret?  Cuz if you can’t, well, you can just stop reading now!  Shhh!

Are you still reading?  Well, okay then, here it is…

I was feeling weird, more weird than usual. I hadn’t received my monthly hate-gift from the dirty B, Aunt Flow.  At first, I just figured that maybe she got the hint that she gives lousy gifts.  I was feeling general grossness, more so than usual. I felt slightly more fatigued and I only wanted to eat cheeseburgers. I wanted them for every meal. Especially the ones at The Habit.  This was not usual.  No, really.

I happened to be at Target with my man, we’ll call him “Charlie”.   Well, Charlie and I happened to go down a certain aisle and  I spied a box.  I decided that we should buy the box.  We got home.  I used what was in the box.

Don’t guess.  Just read.

I thought that the contents of the box were broken.  Cuz when I used it both “lines” showed up fast.  I was supposed to only have one line.  So, I peed on the other stick.

Yeah, okay, so you knew.

Anywhootles, second stick – same thing, two lines.  I was FREAKED OUT!  My first thought was “I’m too young!”  “What will this do to my  ({})?!  I will never be the same!”

I yelled at Charlie to come look at these pee sticks.   Right as he came into the room, I let the stick fly at him like a throwing star. He caught it and said, “What in the hell?!? YOU JUST PEED ON THAT!”  Yep, I did.

He looked at it and then at me and said,  “We are having a baby!!  He was excited.   I wasn’t expecting that. I, on the other hand, was crying and super FREAKED OUT!

I’m having a baby!

Okay, so I found this out a couple of days before blog duty.  I was still, sorta, in shock and not clear on what was headed my way with my new found – uh- status.  I wanted to keep the it on the hush-hush until the guppy and I got used to each other. You know, I wanted to make sure everything was going right before I told the world.  So, it’s been a secret.

Only now, the bump is starting get pretty hard to disguise.

Obviously, this wasn’t planned, but I like to the think the best presents are the unexpected ones!  I wasn’t really sure what-all pregnancy entailed, being that I have never been pregnant before. So, I went on with my daily routines.

So back to Tootles duty.  Tootles and I started the adventure with some ideas. Possibly learn a few new languages, travel somewhere new, do a magic routine together, the usual. We were gonna conquer the world!  I felt fine for the first day or two and we had fun.

Then, it all went down hill……

I had been a little bit nauseas at first.  I was watching Tootles at the office when he either ate something stinky or farted.  (I can’t remember which because now that I’m pregnant I forget stuff all the time) I started getting sick.  Those stories are a post by themselves!

I had to try and tell Tootles that I was making a baby. He would look at me, look at my hands, look around, and then make a very contorted face like, where is the baby?!?

My usual view...

Well, it just kept getting worse. I was one of the lucky *sarcasm* girls who gets the violently-ill, all-day sickness.  I would be handing Tootles a cookie, helping him open a Go-gurt, talking about cars, or breathing and then go into a violent barfing frenzy.

I had to run to the nearest bathroom or trash can or closest bush. Tootles would be standing there, mid-sentence, or left holding the half opened Go-gurt when I would be dragging my lifeless body back to him to try and finish our task.

He would say “Jessica is sick….” and,

“Do you want Jessica to feel better?”

We still tried to do some fun things. We went to the mall and walked through some stores. Lucky for me, Tootles doesn’t embarrass as easily as I do. We had to run to the nearest family bathroom and I would barf my brains out.  Tootles would sing “The wheels on the bus go ROUND AND ROUND” while I barfed. Most of our fun times revolved around finding the nearest bathroom.

Tootles' usual view when with me...

He was a good sport though.  I guess that we will have put our grand plans on hold for just a little bit longer. Don’t worry though.  We’ll conquer the world when we add one more member to the team.

Coming soon...

[Solodialogue’s Note:  Jessica’s Adventures with Tootles shows what I consider a very healthy, accepting and nonjudgmental relationship by someone who knew my son, but did not know autism and then has the word “autism” introduced into the equation.  True, that when I told her of his diagnosis, I was a little taken aback at her blunt – so what- approach.  But since that day, she has shown me how adding a “label” to certain behaviors does not have to change a relationship between my son and others, and between others and me.  She’s shown me that autism is irrelevant to who we really are inside.  And she’s shown me that what I sometimes view with worry and fear, can be viewed with laughter, tickles, and love.  Jessica can be found on Twitter @squidkisses.  She freely taunts all who engage her…]

 

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Adventures with Tootles, Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Secrets and Lies and all that is juicy….An Adventures with Tootles Tale!

  1. Kelly Hafer says:

    OH, WOWZA! Jessica – congratulations to you and *Charlie*! I am so thrilled for you both. BTW, my favorite line EVER: ”What will this do to my ({})?!” For realz. That is gold, right there! 🙂

    PS: Hoping the Puke Fairy leaves you alone – SOON!

  2. Karla (Mom2MissK) says:

    What WONDERFUL news, Jessica! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!

  3. Monica says:

    Such Happy News! Congratulations, Jessica!! You look absolutely Beautiful.

  4. Grace says:

    What Kelly said about ({}). Classic.

    I used the same pregnancy test 8 years ago. My pregnancy with my son was also unplanned. When it came up with two lines, I seriously thought I was having double vision and kept looking from the instructions to the test to make sure I was reading it right. Also? I was curled up in a ball on the bathroom floor at the time.

    I hope you feel better! And your baby bump is beautiful. You wear it much better than I ever did.

  5. Congrats!!!! You’ll be a great mama!

    I wouldn’t worry too much about looking fat because a) on the picture you look adorable and b) Tootles isn’t going to let you sit around long enough to gain but so much weight. Hope you’re feeling better!

  6. Jim W says:

    I’m so confused. Congratulations!

    I saw the burger, it reminded me of this riDICulous burger that Smokey Bones is now serving. It’s 3 half pound burgers and other stuff. . . the thing is a foot tall. How do you eat a foot tall hamburger?? But I’m not pregnant, so maybe that would fix things. Go to Smokey Bones. Baby’s love burgers.

    • Tootleslady says:

      I would LOVE a foot tall burger! Unfortunately there are no smokey bones around here 😦 maybe you could mail one out to Cali!!

  7. Teresa says:

    You look so cute. I would never have guessed that you have been bowing to the porcelain God. Congratulations! Hope you feel better soon.

  8. ElizOF says:

    Congratulations on your announcement and hope to read more on it… TY for being so good to T too! 🙂

  9. Broot says:

    Congrats, Jessica!!

Leave a Reply

