The Book.

This blog is my story of raising my child.  He is beautiful and unique.  Smart, yet different.  My journey with him is our special one amongst many.  There is an entire community of blogging parents of children with autism and we are from all around the world.

As parents, we all have our own directions on the path that we take.  While autism affects boys more often, there are also many girls and women with autism too.  Their paths, while similar, are still different and those parents have great blogs about their daughters.

The path little Tootles and I are on is only slightly worn.  We’ve had our diagnosis for about a year and a half.  Some parents have been on this path for a lot longer.  Their children are in their teens or, in some cases, have technically reached adulthood.

For the most part, though, as parents of children with autism, we have experiences that unite us in a special way.  The struggles we face, the wars we wage to get our childrens’ needs met, and the fears we face, are different from those of other parents.  These differences bring us together as parents of autistic children and we have become like a community family.

One of the most influential parents I know is Lynn Hudoba.  She is the mom of a beautiful, charming little girl named Audrey.  Lynn blogs at My Life as an Ungraceful, Unhinged, and Unwilling Draftee into the Autism Army.  Her blog is a look at some of the very humorous aspects of raising a child with autism.  I adore her.

Lynn, in one of her moments of brilliance, collaborated with another highly influential and published blogger, Big Daddy Autism (whose very popular and funny book is available here) who blogs at Big Daddy Autism about his lovable 13 year old son, Griffin.  These two amazing parents brought together the “family” of autism parents by inviting us to submit stories for the publication of a book of stories about our children.

I was lucky enough to be included in the publication with many well-known blogger parents whom I admire.  If you regularly read this blog on a computer, you’ve seen my link to the book on the sidebar (over to the right of the words).  I haven’t talked about it yet because I wanted to take the time to read the entire book before I actually talked to all of you about it.

I’ve now completed that task and to tell the truth, I could not put it down!  The thing about the book is that each of our stories was limited to about 500 words each.  We were not given topics or ranges of topics.  There are stories about how our children, through their disability see the world, how we learn to see the world through them, and some of the struggles we encounter as we raise our children, either through their education, or through their struggle to make friends, or to communicate, or how ignorance affects our children, and how we learn to cope with, or get around those struggles.

There are so many well written stories.  Each one is a short chapter, a glimpse if you will, in the story that is autism as we parents view it.  The stories are concise and each is complete of itself.  They are vivid and heart-wrenching and funny and cute.  They range from early diagnosis to getting through high school, and all the years in between.

If you pick it up and start to read, before you know it, you will have consumed the entire book.  And yes, Tootles is in there, being Tootles.  Each of these stories is not something you will find on the blogs.  They have been specially written just for the book.

So if you follow this blog, you are missing a chapter.  It’s in the “Wit and Wisdom from the Parents of Special Needs Kids”.  So?  What are you waiting for?  Click up there above where that big picture of the book is, or on that little picture on the side of the blog and get yourself a copy!  Teachers, educators, medical professionals, therapists, lawyers and parents could all benefit from learning the perspectives of the parents in this book!!

Oh yeah.  Our story is on page 33!  And it’s pretty good, not that I’m biased or anything…

This little guy wants you to read his story in the book!!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Book.

  1. Teresa says:

    It’s ordered and on it’s way.

  2. solodialogue says:

    Thanks Teresa! Hope you love it as much as I do! 🙂

  3. ElizOF says:

    Congratulations on the book and I will definitely take a look at it! I love the idea too as it brings together many voices with different experiences on the subject, 🙂
    Finally catching up on blog comments. Phew! 🙂

  4. Jim W says:

    he’s really hard to refuse when he’s looking up at me like that.

  5. What a wonderful testimonial for our book! It’s so exciting to hear what people think now that they have it and have read it. We are so proud of it…and so happy that you joined in on the project! I love your essay!

    • solodialogue says:

      Thank you Lynn in so many ways. I feel privileged to have participated! Such a fun book and so many interesting perspectives. Plus it was very easy to read. I kept thinking “just one more” and like peanuts, I couldn’t stop…

  6. I just got my copy in deepest darkest Africa! Actually, it is always sunny and bright here, though I think I was right about deep. So glad to read how your boy is “rocking on”. So cool having so many of my favourites in one place. 🙂

  7. Akkkk!! I can’t wait to get my (many) copies!! Would you believe that even having paid express shipping in mid September, I still won’t get it for another ten days or so?? I toyed with the idea of getting it from amazon.com since they do everything quicker, but it turns out I’m too cheap to pay full price. Especially with so many cool educational toys/apps for the little guy! **lol**

Leave a Reply

