The Tao of Tootles…

You know, ever since we started all this new anti-seizure med, we’ve had a spurt of extra communication with the little guy.  With all his budding language, Tootles has developed into quite a conversationalist.  Here is a quick rundown of some of his thoughts I had the foresight to write down before I forgot:

1.  Spilt water

It used to be that he would always want me to finish his sentence.  “The car is ______” (looking for a color).   He will stretch out the word is iiiissssss so we know we are supposed to fill in the blank.

One day, he was being particularly wild and managed to knock over a cup of water.

As I started to wipe it up, I scolded him, “Tootles!” I shouted and stopped. He looked at me and softly finished my sentence, saying, “I swear….”

Do I say that?  Oops, guess I do.

2.  Santa Daddy

ME: What does Santa eat?

 TOOTLES: Cookies and milk.

DADDY: Does Santa drink beer?

TOOTLES: Noooo!  That’s silly!

(Actually, our Santa does drink beer… but I don’t think Tootles needs to know that yet).

3.  Science 101 – 

My son used to have a big obsession with the planets and the moon.  Recently, he has noticed the moon again and was asking about it being full.  So, I thought it might be nice to give him a little lesson:

ME: So, if the moon is crescent-shaped it’s called a crescent moon.  Or if it is a semi-circle, it is called a half moon.  When it’s a whole circle, then it’s a full moon.

TOOTLES: Or it could be an empty moon.

ME: (laughing)  When would the moon be empty?

TOOTLES: When he’s gone.

4.  Baking Bread

I have never baked bread since my child was born.  I’ve probably experimented with baking bread maybe three or four times in my life (from scratch – not a bread maker).  When my son was about 1.5, he used to point to a picture of a baker and tell his babysitter that was mama.  It really didn’t look like me but I digress…

He brought up baking bread with me right around Thanksgiving.  This is the conversation:

TOOTLES:  I want Mommy to make you some bread.  (meaning “make me some bread”)

ME: Okay – I guess I might be able to try that sometime.

TOOTLES: I want Mommy to make chocolate bread.

ME: (laughing) Oh, okay – chocolate bread…

TOOTLES: And then make some frosting for the bread.  To put it on top.

Oh c’mon!  You knew cake is just chocolate bread with frosting, right?

5.  Chillin’

Hard at work with his tutors from ABA, he has recently started a program in our car.  He has a meltdown whenever something is dropped in the car or when the DVD player does not work.

He is working through being very emotional when he drops something.  The idea is to teach him that he can get to it later so he doesn’t break down in tears, or scream for me to pull over to the side of the road and pick it up while I’m driving, every time something falls.

He gets into the car with his tutor, Rob who tells him that he’s a big boy and can put his seat belt on.  As Tootles does so, he says to Rob, “I just want to sit down and relax.”

I have no idea where he picked this up but it fits perfectly.  And hey, little boy, me too!  I just wanna relax…

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Tao of Tootles…

  1. Jackie says:

    Cute 🙂
    Now, do they have an ABA program for when doctors stick you with big neddles and you start screaming because they somehow hit the very wrong point? (Apparently according to mother I was over reacting again – la sigh)
    There hits a point where I can’t control my emotional reaction, and yes, that’s what everyone around me keeps waiting me to do. I get it, I have very strong emotional reactions to things that stress me in one form or another, and very little visible build up to that point.
    Sorry venting here
    Its just.. its sooo frustrating, being left feeling as if you are not allowed to express anything what so ever. (I don’t think that’s what they really intend, but it certainly how its been coming across for years)
    Gahh I’ve gone soo off topic.

  2. blogginglily says:

    This is all great stuff. I could use some chocolate frosted bread too. Get on it!!

  3. Grace says:

    I would like you to make some chocolate bread for me, too. You know, since you’re taking requests and all.

    I think you should leave Santa a beer and some chicken wings on Christmas Eve. I would imagine he gets quite tired of milk and cookies.

  4. Lizbeth says:

    I’m with Grace. I highly suggest you skip the whole milk and cookies gig and get something Santa will really enjoy, like a Jack and Coke. Just sayin.

    I couldn’t figure out for the longest time where Alex came up with the phrase, “Seriously?!?” I went into school for something and Alex and his para were in the hallway doing a sensory break. I overheard him say something and giggle and then heard his para exclaim, “Seriously?!?” and she started laughing. After about six months I had the problem solved.

  5. eof737 says:

    Remarkable… I’m so proud of him and you too… may the communication continue to flourish! 🙂

  6. Amazing! I think the moon is my favourite, but I could easily be swayed by some frosted chocolate bread. 🙂

Leave a Reply

