Secrets.

[To each and every one of you who expressed your kind thoughts and prayers, yesterday, thank you is not enough.  I just briefly asked for support on Facebook this morning and I was overwhelmed with the amazing and gracious response of each of you.  You have soothed the entrance to a very difficult time for me.  I could never express how deeply your words have affected me.  You have lifted me up from the sadness and the pain of losing someone who is not yet gone. Even the simplest words have given me strength I did not ever suppose I would muster.  That came from each of you.  And though it is not enough, THANK YOU! ] 

Even in times like this, I have learned my 5 year old son, knows, understands and supports me too.  He understands that grandma is sick and mama must help her and grandpa.  On Monday, there was no school.  The lovely Jessica, being selfless and kind, (two traits I’m sure she will deny to protect her rep), not to mention nearly ready (or OVER ready if you talk to her) to give birth, took care of the Tootles yesterday, while I barked orders and sought explanations at the hospital from everyone who came in the room.

She took Tootles to the coffee shop.  When there, she saw one of my good friends. Jessica said nothing about my mom or her condition because Jessica is a very private person.  If you ever need to tell someone a secret, Jessica is a great vault.  She will put that thing under lockdown and you will never hear it again…

This friend, having not yet heard anything that happened, asked Tootles, “Where is your mama?”  He answered quite matter-of-factly, “At the hospital.”  My friend thought Tootles was being silly.  Jessica, being elusive, explained that she was “practicing” for her own baby by taking Tootles out.  My friend was surprised to learn, later that day, that Tootles was quite correct, clearly responsive and forthright with her.

Kind of a nice story in the midst of the storm.  Never underestimate the comprehension of a child, let alone a child with ASD.  And don’t underestimate his ability to tell you, quite honestly, the answers to your questions.

While Jessica might be a good secret keeper, little Tootles is not.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Secrets.

  1. blogginglily says:

    Secret keeper and LIAR!!!! But still. . . a vault!

  2. Flannery says:

    What’s awesome about this is that he answered a direct question, appropriately. It wasn’t very long ago that I remember reading how he could not do that. Progress, my friend, big progress.

    Hope all is well with you. As well as possible, anyway.

  3. Maybe small, but a silver lining nonetheless. In his understanding, T is showing that he has grown — but I suspect that understanding would not be there unless his thoughts were completely with someone he loves very much.

    Continuing to think of you, my dear friend — and pray for strength to get you through the days ahead.

  4. Broot says:

    What Flannery said. ((hugs))

  5. Tootleslady says:

    Ill always be here for you and Tootles. It is pretty rad that Tootles gave an on point response to the question….. I just hope that noone asks him questions about me! I gotta teach Tootles about keeping secrets!!

  6. danidawn says:

    Still thinking of you. Sending you all the strength I can. **hugs**

  7. Jackie says:

    Peace be with you and your family in these times.
    Hang in there.
    Remember the good times.

  8. Lana Rush says:

    As a former kindergarten teacher, most parents would be shocked to know everything their kids tell us! 🙂 T is very typical in that regard….

  9. Lizbeth says:

    Never underestimate how much they hear and understand. They absorb sooooo much. Hugs…hugs.

  10. dixieredmond says:

    I’m sorry about your mom, Karen. My grandmother had Parkinson’s. I am glad in the midst of the pain and the stress that Tootles shows how connected he is. Sending cyber-hugs.

    Dixie

  11. eof737 says:

    Sending you more prayers and hugs… always!

Leave a Reply

