Valentine Dreams…

Oh, sweet Valentine’s Day!  What happened to my perception of you?  We used to be so cozy.  You filled me with ideas of romance and mystery. Now, I try to avoid your frill, you’re reds and pinks and lace.  Sure, I’m happy to share a piece of chocolate on your day but now I’m asleep, if I’m lucky by 11 p.m.  But there was a time…

I used to dream that when your day came around, I’d have a romantic dinner and glass of wine at a cafe near the Eiffel Tower.  Finish it up with a sweet delicious chocolate and quiet walk.  Beautiful music playing.

Ah, but then I think of how it is winter in Paris, 40 degrees with rain and I’d be chilled to the bone for the walk.  I remember the pictures of how beautiful the Eiffel Tower looked lit up blue last April…

and my thoughts go back to my favorite Valentine…

Then, there was always the alternate dream of a romantic dinner on the beach, a lone table at sunset, warm tropical breezes and drinks with umbrellas, walking through the sand with bare feet, listening to the waves.

But then I think of all the fun it would be to get out a bucket and make a sand castle with little hands, draw names and hearts on the beach with the sound of a little person playing the same music over and over on an iPad.

The truth is that the only Valentine I need anymore is my son.  The one who can keep me smiling, dance to the song on his toothbrush, yell for me to wipe his rear end and say, “I love you mommy,” right before he falls asleep at night.

I don’t need Paris or a warm, tropical beach or anywhere but home, a hug and a smile from my little Valentine.

Wherever you are, I wish you a Valentine’s Day full of love…

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valentine Dreams…

  1. Flannery says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day!!! I hope your little man (and the big one) give you lots of love today!

  2. Happy Valentine’s day to you and T — with a smooch from Little Miss!

  3. Grace says:

    Awww!! I like this!!

    Happy Valentines Day!

  4. Lizbeth says:

    Back at ya lady, right back at ya!

  5. Kara says:

    So sweet. Hope you all have a great day.

  6. eof737 says:

    I wish you same, and I also wish you all the other wonderful things on your list… that you will enjoy them again someday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

