Thinking About Awareness.

What kind of people do they think we are?  Is it possible they do not realize that we shall never cease to persevere against them until they have been taught a lesson which they and the world will never forget?  

Winston Churchill

Rarely do we find men who willingly engage in hard, solid thinking.  There is an almost universal quest for easy answers and half-baked solutions.  Nothing pains some people more than having to think. 

Martin Luther King

I do not think much of a man who is not wiser today than yesterday.  Abraham Lincoln

We are what we think.  All that we are arises with our thoughts.  With our thoughts, we make the world. 

Buddha

These quotes, especially the last one, inspire us to think.  We all know what’s around the corner in April.  World Autism Awareness Day (April 2nd) and Autism Awareness Month.  With it come groans, the requisite backlash against the entity “Autism Speaks”, and the usual mantra about how autism awareness should be year round.  But really.  What are you doing for World Autism Awareness Day or Autism Awareness Month?  Anything?

Last year, we put up the “blue lights” on the house.  It looked pretty good.  Neither my husband nor I were approached at all.  By anyone.  About the lights.  We actually hoped someone from the homeowner’s association would complain.  Nada.  No one could see my house when I went to work, took my son to preschool or went about my daily business.  No one cared at night.  Thinking did not result from “light it up blue”.

So, I thought, this year it has to be different.  I want to make someone somewhere think  about autism, become “aware”.  I’m not, generally, a public speaker (unless I’m in a jury trial but that’s not happening in April).  So, this year? I’m looking to generate some one on one social interaction by – not lighting up my house blue – but lighting myself up blue – I’m putting blue hair extensions in my hair for the whole month.  As I am not 17 and I’m not 80 (yet) and an alleged “professional”, I’m thinking someone might want to know why I have blue hair.

Hoping it will be somewhat like this...

Why hair extensions instead of dye?  Well, according to the fabulous professional who does my hair, if I dyed my hair blue, it would turn green within 24 hours.  Pre-dyed hair extensions will last the whole month, I’m told.  I don’t know why there is a difference – I’m no chemistry major…

I’m going to hand out business cards to anyone who asks about my hair sending them to a page on my blog devoted to discussing “autism” as it affects my life and as I see the impact of it on my son.  Of course, I will freely discuss it with all who are interested.

It looks like my pledge is being joined.  So far, Jessica who guested posted here under “Adventures with Tootles” has committed to doing the same.  Of course, at her age, it should be less of a conversation piece, but you never know.  Tootles’ kindergarten teacher has become excited about the idea and expressed interest in doing the same.

So? Who amongst you reading this – oh don’t stop reading now – I know who you are – will commit to do this too?

I want those photos people!   I want to have 100 people willing to dye their hair blue and talk about it – people willing to post their photos here and be tweeted and Facebook’ed to raise awareness.  Don’t give me the whole Autism Speaks chose blue so I don’t want to…blah blah…  Blue is it.  Forget about what you think of that entity.  This is a simple exercise in raising awareness.

If you do it and send me a photo, I will post it.  Come on – you know you want to…

Do the one thing you think you cannot do.  Fail at it.  Try again.  Do better the second time.  The only people who never tumble are those who never mount the high wire.  This is your moment.  Own it. 

Oprah Winfrey.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Thinking About Awareness.

  1. kcunning says:

    I have decided to combine both things, and get these: http://www.amazon.com/Glowbys-Fiber-Optic-Light-Up-Barrette/dp/B002Y29HDI

    Of course, I’m a work from home shut-in, so I doubt it’ll help much 🙂

    I don’t know how much I’ll do for April. Most of my audience is on Twitter, so I might post a daily snippet there.

  2. What an awesome idea! Can’t wait to see your pic!

  3. Kelly Hafer says:

    Okay. I’m in. I have to find a blue hair extension. Imma stop by the wig store today and see what they can hook me up with. It’s ON, Momma.

    I already have one article submitted and approved to The Flagship, the local Navy publication, discussing autism awareness. They asked me to do another, more “technical” article regarding military insurance and programs available to help those dependents with autism. This reminds me, I need to blog about deadlines. If ANYONE is thinking of submitting to any sort of pub for April, time is ticking! Let’s get on it, People!

  4. blogginglily says:

    I think I spelled Tootles wrong in my last comment. I can’t focus on your post while I have that hanging over my head.

  5. Grace says:

    First of all, I love the MLK quote. Truer words have never been spoken.

    Second of all, this idea rocks. Count me in, even though I generally don’t like to call attention to myself, with a few stipulations: 1. I must find a removable blue hairpiece, and I have no idea where to start. (I used to be with it, but then they changed what “it” is.) 2. I will wear it out socially, but not to work. If I show up to work with blue hair, I will most def be out of a job.

    Lastly, I will be putting up an anxiety-riddled post today or tomorrow about Autism Awareness. I started writing it before I read this, so please know it does not reflect on you in any way.

    • solodialogue says:

      Wait – what?! Is this MY Grace? The one that has the “Kiss me I’m Irish shirt?” Sheesh – not call attention to myself…

      If you are not wearing blue hair to work, maybe you should try Katie’s suggestion down below for the fiber optic blue lights for the hair. Yeah, that sounds like the Grace I know… They would fit right in for Atlantic City!! 🙂

  6. Melissa says:

    I kind of really love this idea! So original…

  7. I’m just trailing Jim around so I can read his hilarious comments.

  8. blogginglily says:

    Oh, I don’t know. I’ll mention it to Leslie. my hair won’t take extensions. It’s 1/2″ long.

  9. Lisa says:

    I’ll streak it up blue for Autism Awareness! I am brunette, so I hope the electric blue is noticeable. I am conservative, so even if it doesn’t show up much, I hope someone will notice that I have BLUE hair. 🙂 I will send pictures.

  10. srk says:

    I have scheduled an appointment with the person who cuts my hair for a needed hair cut and the blue hair extensions. I’m doing it here in Durham, NC.

  11. Lana Rush says:

    Oh my! Last year, my big girls did blue feathers in their hair for the month of April and Light It Up Blue. But I chickened out because…. ahem…. I am the pastor’s wife, for goodness sake. Can a pastor’s wife (and Baptist, at that!) wear blue extensions?? I am thinking so….

  12. Pingback: Magnets Give Me Angst « That'sRightISaidIt.Dot.Mom

  13. Kara says:

    I’M IN!! What a great idea!

  14. eof737 says:

    If I could I would… It won’t show on my jet black hair. 😆

Leave a Reply

