Almost Wordless Wednesday…

Once or twice a month at kindergarten, each child gets to “share” on his/her day.  That child gets to bring a toy to share with the class, talk about it, and lead the class in calendar time and counting.  Not a Tootles’ source of strength.  This month, though, he enjoyed counting to 100 in front of the class so much, he thought he should do it every day!

Better yet?  Look at the kid who hates anything on his head:

He now wants to “work for” doing the listening center at school!  I guess the EEG makes the headphones look like a piece of cake!

Happy Wednesday!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday., Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Almost Wordless Wednesday…

  1. Awww!

    You know, the benefit of headphones in the classroom is also that you can tune out all the other chaos that is going on. We’ve used headphones on an air plane with Little Miss’s iPad (more for the other passengers than for LM — but she ended up really liking it!)

  2. Flannery says:

    He is so darn awesome!!! Look at him, counting those numbers! Wonderful progress.

  3. Lizbeth says:

    Awesome! Pure awesome!!!

  4. Kelly Hafer says:

    The Mickey Pointer is pretty cool. I, myself, like to grab one any chance I get. But, counting to 100?! Great Googly Moogly! That is stinking awesome, Karen. What a Rock Star!

    • solodialogue says:

      You know, I don’t know which is worse. You using “googly moogly” or me knowing what you are talking about… I’m guessing we’re about even (and I love it when Beast uses that phrase with Maggie. Please tell me that’s where you’re getting it from, because if you say Frank Zappa, I choose not to believe you. 😛

  5. Sam says:

    What happened to adventures with tootles? Miss the stories.

  6. Lana Rush says:

    Look at Tootles go! I love how you help us remember to celebrate it all – the big and the small. And I will now take my leave after that bit of unintentional poetry… 🙂

  7. Lisa says:

    Tootles is really making strides! I love that he tolerates headphones…wish Tate did. And whoo-hoo for counting to 100. I bet that pointer makes it way fun! (Tate has 2 of them…unfortunately uses them more for stimming, but we are working on that!)

    • solodialogue says:

      These photos were taken by his tutors at school! I’m still working on the headphones at home with him… but it’s working (knock on wood!). Just about a month ago – headphones would’ve totally been out of the question!

  8. Jen says:

    That’s awesome!!! Way to go T! He reminds me of my little guy who loves to count to 100 and listen to his headphones. I wish we lived closer for playdates!!

  9. Kara says:

    What a HUGE Wordless Wednesday. They should totally let him do that every day.

  10. eof737 says:

    Awesome… see it does get better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

