I Owe, I Owe, So it’s Off to Meme I Go…

Me or Gaga accepting all this meme love... I thought that was me...

Oh, you tagged me in a meme?  How thoughtful.  Really.  I mean it.  It’s nice to be remembered once in a while.  And it looks like fun.  I will do it.  Eventually.   

What?  Oh I got tagged again? A birthday date meme?  Stephanie, that does look interesting.  When was that last one?  Was that in January, Broot?  Oops, my bad.  Better get on that.  And that new one.  And what’s that?  Twice more.  Oh, thanks Kelly and Flan (Flan, you show-off!  Getting that meme done so fast… Why must you keep making me look bad?!).  What’s that chest pain?  Is that stress or guilt or a combo?

Yeah, you’d think that someone who created her own meme, would be right on that.  You would think.  I, actually, do like being tagged once in a while…  I’m just really, really slow to respond.  So, today, I’m starting to dig out of the hole.  Don’t even THINK about clicking to the next blog… and be patient.  Obviously, Broot has been, since she’s been waiting since January for me to take care of this one…  I will get them done soon!  [I do owe Broot at Craving a Little Perspective an apology and I’m sure she thought I blew her off but NOT SO!!  Sorry Broot for my unfashionably late response…]

Broot’s meme is about FOOD and who doesn’t need a little variety?  Plus, hey, it’s food -people!  I am not one to say no to food related things…  So, here goes:

What or who inspired you to start a blog?

It’s pretty clear that I wanted to share “awareness” of autism when I started this blog.  I think the person who has become most aware as a result of this endeavor has been me.  I have learned so much from fellow bloggers and commenters who don’t blog.  You are all so much more savvy than I, and you have directed, protected, scolded and taught me things I had no inkling of when I first began to type.  I’m grateful to each of you.

The actual inspiration for this blog was, of course, my son, but also my high school friend, Tamy, who started a blog before me, and now blogs at Freshman at 50.  It was Tamy who truly inspired me to write.

Who is your foodie inspiration?

I am Swedish too!

Let me just preface this by saying, I suck at cooking.  I want to be a good cook.  I want to be a baker and a chef but no matter how hard I try, or what gadget I have, my results are -ahem – inconsistent at best.  I can make something one time and it’s great and the next time, a starving dog would walk away…

Most dogs would go here rather than my kitchen...

Having said that, I love Giada DeLaurentiis, especially her first book, Everyday Italian.  If anyone could bring me close to human cooking it would be Giada.  And when I first watched her, I seethed with envy at her tiny, little perfect self.  But once I started watching, she was so nice and made cooking seem so easy.  I have actually had more success with her recipes than any others I have tried.

And, as far as real life inspiration?  It has to be my friends Lisa and Jonathon who run a bakery and make the most delicious and decadent food imaginable.  And they encourage me!  Just don’t hunt them down with pitchforks and torches after I cook for you…

Your greasiest, batter-spattered food book is…  

Such a perfect question.  Just about any recipe that is not one I am reading from a laptop, gets spattered with something.  The Worst Cooks in America (contestants of course) would feel superior in my presence.  Take a look at one of my cook books…

Back in the day, obviously, I had an electric stovetop, where I placed the cookbook...

And you thought I was kidding.

Tell us all about the best thing you have ever eaten in another country, where was it…what was it?

Oh, I really have to go back in time for this one because, well, I haven’t left the US for – uh – many, many moons.   The best thing I ever ate in another country was on the beach in Cancun where I had, for the first time, a conch salad.  And it was delicious.

Oh, the yum!

What is the one kitchen gadget you would ask Santa for this year (money no object, of course)?

Does Gordon Ramsey count as a kitchen gadget?  Because I like ‘em mean.  That’s my real life hubs for you (mean), and Gordon fits that bill…  Just kidding (sort of).

I would love to have a backyard wood-fire stove to make bread and pizza.  Forget that I can’t have that kind of bread or pizza on my permanent diet… but wouldn’t that be cool?  You said money was no object!!!

Who taught you how to cook?

For me, this question reads, “Who’s to blame for your cooking disasters?”  Let me put it like this.  My mom came over to this country from Korea.  She is not  a good cook from Korea.  She is like a really bad cook who wanted to be a good cook – sorta like the older version of me.

Up the chain, this man is responsible for my cooking skills... Sorry Grandpa.

Anyway, she comes over from Korea and lives, at first, with my dad and my grandpa who was a Swedish widower with three sons, my dad being the youngest.  My Swedish grandpa also could not cook.  Thus, an imported bad cook from Sweden taught an imported bad cook from Korea to cook with a language barrier, and she passed those delightful skills onto me.

Jon and Lisa who have adopted me as their "stray" cook...

But really?  Food Network and my absolutely wonderful friends Jonathon and Lisa (who, I believe, feel very sorry for my inadequacies) have taught me how not to burn water.

I’m coming to your house for dinner.  What’s your signature dish?

Hahahaha!

Well!  Brave, aren’t you?  I will prepare shots of Pepto Bismol and Milk of Magnesia for your departure.

No, no.  I can make at least one dish properly.  One of my friends once commented that I am a “one-trick pony”…. Hmmm.

At any rate, if you want to eat here and leave with your stomach still intact and actually happy, I will cook Bulgogi for you, which is Korean marinaded beef.  It is delicious.

This is good.

What is your guilty food pleasure?

Obviously, anything chocolate.

And, of course, I know how to do chocolate in a BIG way.  This is what I plan to have for my birthday:

Salted caramel six layer chocolate cake!

because of KD Rose at Wanderlust Grounded.  Katie has amazing baking (and other) adventures.  You will not regret reading her stories, which can be quite funny as well.  And don’t worry.  It won’t be me trying to bake this chocolate monstrosity.  My friend Jonathon has agreed to do it!

Katie is also my hero for this:

Maple Bacon Cupcake. Yeeeeessss!

Bacon and cake together?!  Did I not just post how this would be Nirvana?!  This woman deserves an award for posting this recipe!

Reveal something about yourself that others would be surprised to learn.

I swear a lot more than you would think.

And now… my foolish reader who made it down this far…  who do I tag for this meme?  Ah, sweet revenge loving friends…

Lizbeth at Four Sea Stars cuz that woman is constantly posting photos of fancy baked goods she makes – bragger!!

Lana at Along Came the Bird, because she is foolish enough to think a meme is still “fun”.

Jim at Just a Lil Blog, and normally, while I have tagged him once and I would not normally, further harass him (maybe), this one is about food and he has posted food on Instagram so I’m thinking this could be fun and he is so funny anyway…

What would a meme be unless I tagged Karla at Beyond the Dryer Vent?  (Ha!  You thought you got away, didn’t you?)

Kelly, from Unplanned Trip to Holland, I know I still owe you one but why not?  I think your answers on food would be very entertaining;

Oh yes, Marsupial Mama from Autism Rocks – it’s on!

How could I not tag Katie who is responsible for two of the photos in this post?

Flan and Stephanie get a pass because I owe them a meme (don’t ask why Kelly doesn’t – just because!)  And Grace, well, girl, I’m thinking your cooking skills and my cooking skills – probably are the same… but I’m sure Lizbeth will tag you so we can find out!

And just as you thought you got away, Deenie at Life on the J Train – don’t be going to IHop and not posting about food – you’re tagged.  And my last named victim taggee will be Lisa at Between Hope and a Hard Place.  Deenie and Lisa have been foolish kind enough to comment here and there and everywhere so I think we should know some more about them!

Well, Broot, that was fun!

Happy Weekend Everyone!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to I Owe, I Owe, So it’s Off to Meme I Go…

  1. Lisa says:

    I got homework!?! Cool…let me think about this…

    P.S. I want that chocolate cake!

  2. kcunning says:

    Regarding food, no one has leveled up my cooking skill like Alton Brown. It also helps that his goofy puppets are a hit with the kids, so I can watch it with them around.

  3. What a brilliant and goofy post, all rolled into one. Love it!

    Shakti

  4. Flannery says:

    It’s about time you got caught up! LOL!

    I am surprised that you are such a bad cook. I thought Asian women started intensive cooking training when they turned 5 (maybe I read that from the Tiger Mom). But you’re not alone, because I’m also a mediocre cook. I’ve gotten better as I’ve gotten older, but still not great.

    Stick with what you’re good at, being a lawyer!!!! Besides, there are plenty of good restaurants, right??

    • solodialogue says:

      Slow, like a tortoise I am…

      Perhaps, normally Asian women have this intensive cooking training but not my mom… or me! (Remember I’m half Swede)

      Thank Goodness for restaurants! 😉

  5. Mom2MissK says:

    Thanks for the tag… (not). The Bulgogi does look fantastic though… Do you have a family recipe? (hint, hint)

    • solodialogue says:

      You’re welcome. 😀

      And, yes. I do have that recipe. Oh, you mean you want that? Haha! I will email it just because LM should be treated to a great Korean meal! 🙂

  6. Ha!! That’s awesome!! Looks like your cooking skills and my cooking skills are pretty similar. Coke literally came spraying out of my mouth when I saw the happy face you put after “what’s for dinner?” That sooo would have been my answer!!

    Anyway, guess what the Bubs’ favorite Korean dish is?? Bulgogi!! (And kimchi. Actually, when I was pregnant with my son, I made him buy me TONS of kimchi cause it was one of my cravings). This looks like a fun meme, can’t wait to read everyone’s responses!

    • solodialogue says:

      Glad to know I’m not alone! Kimchi is scary stuff! I stay away from the kimchi – I cannot believe that was one of your cravings! I’m excited to read YOUR responses. 🙂

  7. blogginglily says:

    I want bulgogi. I’ll do it! But not today. . .

  8. Jonathon says:

    First of all, let me clear the air. You are not a bad cook. As a matter of fact, I have had the pleasure of eating some of your dishes that were quite delectible. Besides, your considerible skills as a mother, a lawyer and from my selfish perspective, a friend, are far more impressive and important than any culinary endevors. As a cook, you just need a little more self confidence. As a friend, nothing is lacking. Lisa and I feel so privileged that you are in our lives.

    • solodialogue says:

      Oh Jonathon. They do say the memory is the first to go! Those were probably your dishes you were eating, not mine! Anyway, I do appreciate the kind words and the old man and I are lucky to have you and Lisa as little angels in our midst. 🙂

  9. Lizbeth says:

    And here I was laughing my ass off thinking I wasn’t getting tagged. And I KNEW you cussed more than you let on. I KNEW IT.

    Now I have to go up there and figure out what I need to do here. Thing is, I can bake up a storm but cooking? Meh, I could do without it.

    And for the record, if you can marinate beef and it’s still edible at the end, you can cook. 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      What do they say – hmmm – takes one to know…

      Yay! I can marinate and it’s still edible (for one dish!) I can cook! 😉

      (Cannot wait to read your responses!)

  10. So clever and creative! 🙂

  11. Lana Rush says:

    Yes, I’m still a fool for the meme… Allie tagged me in one this week, too so next week will be the week of memes!

    I want Bulgogi, too. (I feel like I’m following Jim around today and echoing his comments) There should be some kind of “Bulgogi Bash” when we finally all meet up somewhere someday…

    • solodialogue says:

      Why is it that I wrote about the horrible cook that I am and all of a sudden I’m cooking for a crowd when we all finally “get together”? There is just something wrong with this picture! But how could I say no to Lana? Impossible. 😉

  12. C... says:

    I totally suck at cooking too and never talk about it on my blog because I never really cook … I just warm things up.

  13. Katie says:

    Thank you for meme-ing me (did I just turn a noun into a verb?). I’m so slow on the uptake, here. I’ve never been memed before, so this is an exciting first! I really believe that everybody can cook and bake, it just take a bit of confidence and a little technique!

    • solodialogue says:

      Hi Katie! Glad you stopped in. Don’t feel obligated to do the meme but the questions just seemed like they fit you so perfectly! Usually with a meme, I post instructions for it better. I don’t know why I did not on this one. For the meme, you just link back to the person who tagged you (me), answer the same questions, and tag other bloggers whose answers you would find interesting.

      And thanks for the words of wisdom on cooking. I believe I’ve heard them before! Always from those who have the ‘gift’… 🙂

  14. eof737 says:

    I didn’t know you were such a foodie! Rock on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

