Almost Wordless Wednesday… The Art of Eating an Oreo.

There was this old commercial for Tootsie Pops where the boy asked the wise old owl, “How many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop?”  The wise old owl says, “Let’s find out,” and proceeds to unwrap, lick three times, and bite it off swallowing whole.  He then says, “Three.”

My son is the exact opposite.  He won’t bite off: sandwich, burger, pop tart, anything.  So they started a new program with him in ABA called “bite off”.  Torturous as it is, he must eat – GET THIS – an Oreo… double-stuff, no less, by biting off a piece.  This is how program implementation went:

Trying hard.

How much is left?

Being delicate...

Have you ever seen such an unhappy face for an Oreo?!

Am I done yet?

Can I bury this instead?

Now, it's work. Yes, this is all the same Oreo.

Examining what (sigh) he still has to eat. Such torture.

One Oreo, people!  One.  I think that was 27 bites.  But, hey, he did it!

Happy Wednesday!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday., Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Almost Wordless Wednesday… The Art of Eating an Oreo.

  1. kcunning says:

    This is the one thing that hasn’t gotten better for Jake. If he doesn’t want to eat something, he’ll take the smallest bites possible, and look tormented about it the entire time. It drives my SO up the wall, since he was a ‘clean plate’ kid growing up.

    Pizza, however? Gone in a flash.

    I’m betting on his teen years kicking his appetite into overdrive, though. If not, I’ll be the only mom on the block who doesn’t complain about their kid eating them out of house and home.

    • solodialogue says:

      I’m just hoping for pre-teen “kicking in the appetite”! Lol! It’s funny how that pizza disappears though, isn’t it? With Toots, it’s ice cream or cheesecake. Everything else, packed or chewed to oblivion. I’m surprised his jaw doesn’t hurt!

  2. JT says:

    You know, he might be on to something with the 27 bites for an Oreo. If I used that many to eat one, I might be able to loss some of this weight. LOL.

    He’s doing so great. Thanks for the pictures as well.

    • solodialogue says:

      Lol! I don’t even think I could make the Oreo last 27 bites if I tried – hard! What can I say? I’m like the “wise old owl” in the Tootsie Pop commercial!

  3. Mom2MissK says:

    Oh God. We have sooooooooo been there. Little Miss still takes the record for making a Cheerio into 3 bites. A freaking CHEERIO, for God’s sake!

    On the bright side, I guess our kids will ever be over-weight…

  4. Oh. Poor Tootles. Having to eat a Double Stuff Oreo. Soooo – where does he take therapy? I might need some help myself, just sayin’.

    FYI – Lily will bite off, but she won’t lick – like a popsicle or a sucker. She’s totally stumped by just licking something.

    • solodialogue says:

      Oh the torture and drama!! Who could not use some Oreo therapy?! Even the therapists are tortured with growling tummies trying to get him to eat it!! (Tootles won’t “lick” unless prompted and then – awkward!)

  5. Flannery says:

    It’s only 10am and I already need some “Oreo therapy”…not to make light, but it is funny that therapy involves being forced to eat cookies!!

    He is making progres though. At least he didn’t pitch a huge fit to get out of doing it. Baby stepping his way to downing a whole pack of Oreos while watching Desperate Housewives. Wait, that might me me.

  6. utkallie says:

    Oh man can I relate to this! Cam was so sensitive on his front teeth/gums that he used to pull his upper lip around them to protect so nothing would touch them. We had to do a lot of facial massage and desensitizing just to get his lip to posture normal because it “grew” into the shape he kept in in. He was terrified of biting down on anything. One of the things that I think worked the best out of all of the therapy we’ve been in , is to let him sit with an electiric toothbrush in his mouth for a few minutes throughout the day, especially before meal times.

    • solodialogue says:

      Tootles does NOT like to bite and pull – he will chew without hesitation. I don’t know if the sizing confounds him or what it is. I know there is some component of oral sensory processing but behavior is mixed in. As for an electric toothbrush? (shhh- don’t tell anyone but he is afraid of them!)

  7. C... says:

    But he’s so cute while being unhappy about it. 🙂

  8. Teresa says:

    We can learn so much from Tootles.

    • solodialogue says:

      You are just so funny! Admit it – you could not make 27 bites out of one Oreo!!

      What I have learned from Tootles is that my stomach growls watching him try to down one Oreo! 😉 But stealing the “baby’s” food is not my style. His dad on the other hand… well, that’s a whole other post!

  9. Lizbeth says:

    Gaw, he’s adorable. 27 is better than 28 so that’s progress. Yay Tootles!!!

  10. Lisa says:

    His expressions are priceless….I wish I could take that long to eat an Oreo. I’d not have these extra 15 pounds on y abs and butt!!! Hope he continues to make progress…maybe next time it will only be 25 bites. He’ll get there!!

  11. Adorable! (Loved that commercial as a child,by the way.)You did an excellent job of capturing him in action. Well done.

  12. Jenny says:

    Max used to eat like that, now he eats like he is afraid someone is going to take his food away most of the time!

  13. I loved the sheer simplicity of the message and the visuals.

    Shakti

Leave a Reply

