Hate It! Love It!

“Love me or hate me, both are in my favor…If you love me, I’ll always be in your heart…If you hate me, I’ll always be in your mind.” 
― William Shakespeare

Sometimes, you just need a list to describe who you really are.  I describe a little bit of my son here with every post, but a lot of who he is comes from what he loves and, well, what he doesn’t love.  Here’s a little sampling:

Things my son hates:

The car wash

His hair brushed

Tunnels

Using the toilet

Yo Gabba Gabba

Coloring

Breaks in routine

The Joker

The Dark

Mommy’s singing

Homework

Trying new foods

Chuck E Cheese

Sleeping

Things my son loves:

Pencil sharpeners

Measuring tapes and power tool toys

Push Buttons of any kind

Remote control cars

Oswald

Cheesecake

Colors

Fruit Ninja Bombs

Elvis

Toys R Us

Flashing lights

Elevators

Strawberry Milkshakes

Gluing

Singing

Dancing, and

Sleeping.

You see, sleeping is a bad idea, until it happens.  Once asleep,  he does not want to get up again.  Sound familiar?  It does to me too.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hate It! Love It!

  1. Mom2MissK says:

    What a cute idea! You know what you need to do with this list? A meme!

  2. Kelly Hafer says:

    Dare I ask, “Fruit Ninja Bomb”? What do I have to look forward to?!

  3. Yo Gabba Gabba looks about as terrifying as Veggie Tales. I love this post.

  4. Flannery says:

    Connor hates for me to sing too. It started at about 15 months, and only recently just started to wane a little. In his defense, I’m a horrible singer.

    He also loves tape measures. How funny is that?!

  5. Lisa says:

    He’s a smart boy–Chuck E Cheese & Yo Gabba Gabba….*shudders*. Ewwwww.

    Tate loves buttons and elevators, singing and dancing–as long as HE is doing it. Me?? I’ve been forbidden to sing or dance. I prefer to think that they are ahead of the curve on those–in a few years, no child will want their parents to sing or dance. 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      I know!!

      Oops, better include you in that demo!! What song shall we sing to our child fans? I think the video that goes with it should have us all dance. I’m sure this is ammo that could be exploited for maximum benefit. 😉

  6. Lizbeth says:

    OMG, you want to know what’s funny? Someone had mentioned that tubes and pipes thing was done as a car wash and I had to laugh because Alex hates the car wash sooooo much. It never would have crossed my mind to even call it that for fear of an instant meltdown. The one car wash we did was the longest 10 minutes of my life.

  7. blogginglily says:

    “don’t sing please” I hear that maybe 20 times a day.

  8. Very sweet. None of my boys like my singing, either! lol Cute list. 🙂 Sam

  9. Lily loves the car wash… so I guess she can be responsible for that chore when she and T get married. And T can sharpen all the pencils.
    And while I just hate those memes (oh, who am I kidding? I STILL love them!), I have to agree with Karla and Allie. This list thing has some good meme potential…

  10. eof737 says:

    Cool post…and he’s a typical kid with his likes! 😉

Leave a Reply

