The Junk Drawer.

We were on the floor looking through a drawer.  Come on – confess.  You must have at least, one junk drawer.  (It’s pretty much the only kind of drawer I have in my house…) There are a lot of little do-dads that the Tootles has collected through the years.  Happy Meals’ crappy toys, party favors, freebies from stores or other places, and things people give him just because.  I don’t know where to put a lot of this “stuff”.

Actually, I’d like to throw it away but Tootles inventories everything.  He has a photographic memory for his things and when and where he got them.  I’m often quizzed on the subject and remember nothing.  He recalls everything.   If a plastic cap, from a pencil given to him at age 1.5, by a clown, tying balloon animals at the mall, goes missing?  He will pester me to the ends of the Earth, to find it.  Even if I tell him I have no clue where it is, or that it was thrown away,  it matters not.  He will continue to pester me through my dinner, shower, toileting, washing clothes and dishes, and in the car to find it until he finally falls asleep.

Curse you, light up drumsticks!!

So, there’s a lot of crap in this junk drawer.  This time, he was on the search for a “drum stick”.  It is one of those light up, clear, toy drumsticks.  When you tap it, it makes a drum roll or cymbal sound while simultaneously lighting up in different colors.

We got it from K-B Toys.  You know, the K-B Toys that went bankrupt in 2008?  When my kid was 2 years old?  The drumstick he has not looked at or played with in almost four years.  I was trying to eat dinner when he got this hair up his rear end.

The reason he was on the hunt for this drumstick is that he was about to take his first drumming lesson and he wanted to fool around with it for practice, instead of going upstairs and banging on the real drums.  And he was not going to let this go.

Eventually, I got on the floor with him and started wading through the drawer that had this in it:

And this:

I think this was a part to something. Who knows what.

And this:

I soooo want to throw this away!

Then, he found this:

You must recognize this stuff.  It’s the foam edging that goes under the baby-proofing for the table edges so our kids don’t bash their skulls when they inevitably crash into the table.  Our house is still baby-proofed.

That foam cushion goes under the gray edging for the corners.

He looked at me and asked, “What is that?”  I told him.  While I was telling him, he raised it to his cheek and ear.  Holding it like a phone he softly said, “Hello?  Hello?”

Hello?

It was so cute.  He was pretending the foam was a phone and that he had someone to talk to!  I giggled and told him I thought it was cute.  He looked at me and said with a straight face,  “Mommy, to stop laughing!”  Apparently, either I embarrassed him or he was embarrassed of me, not sure which.  He followed by looking at me and saying, “Mommy to go to the computer.  Look that way, Mommy!” he said and pointed away from himself.

I was entertained.  I looked away.  He then held the foam up to his ear again and softly whispered, “Hello? [insert girl’s name]?”  It was all I could do not to bust out laughing.  He was pretending to talk to one of the girls in his school!  Hey!  He was pretending!!  He was using the name of a girl IN-HIS-CLASS!  He was actively monitoring my reaction and expressing his uncomfortableness about it!  Who else would say hooray to that?  All of these things were supposed to be so unusual for my ASD kid, yet they were not at that moment.

Yes, it’s a junk drawer.  But when we opened it that day, a little magic spilled out.  How cool is that?

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Junk Drawer.

  1. Mom2MissK says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE IT! Tell T he can call me anytime!

  2. Lisa says:

    I know the drawers of which you speak…and many of my boys’ treasures are in there. (Of the pictures you showed, we have 2 of the same items lurking about.) Tate has the same steel trap memory. It’s a blessing and a curse…. 🙂

    Love, love, love the magic that sprung from the drawer and foam. All kinds of awesome!

  3. Lizbeth says:

    I have a junk drawer, I call it my basement. It’s were all our stuff goes to die. I wish it would magically disappear but it won’t and alas I am stuck with it. I’m glad you found some magic in it, I have only found old happy meal toys from Wendy’s……

  4. Teresa says:

    It is super groovy cool!

  5. utkallie says:

    I love it! We’ve found those junky toys to be more fun than the big fancy ones.

  6. So sweet and creative. 🙂 Sam

  7. Oh God, he has to meet Pudding so that they can have imaginary phone conversations with each other. Maybe Skype?! By the way, I don’t have a junk drawer, I have a junk house. Seems like if we can’t figure out what something is for, we just take it to another continent. One day we’ll have to sort this stuff out!

Leave a Reply

