The Birthday Fairy.

Once upon a time, deep in the woods, lived a little boy.  This little boy had a tendency to like really loud noises.  He loved a good siren, whistle, horn, engine, squealing brakes, drums, and screaming.  The boy knew the loud noises were a bit disconcerting to his mom but he just could not help himself.  He loved loud things.  Here’s a sample:

The boy’s mommy had a lot of patience for the little boy.  But even the mommy could not help the little boy when it came to – The Birthday Fairy.

Of all the beautiful and cool fairy images, Toots says THIS one is the Birthday Fairy…

You see, every year, when it got close to the little boy’s birthday, in late May, the Birthday Fairy came out of hibernation.  The Birthday Fairy sleeps all year, except for the last couple of months before this child’s birthday.

Each year, the Birthday Fairy awakens with very weak wings.  Now, the Birthday Fairies are a varied lot.  They can be male or female, young or old.  This particular little boy had a female Birthday Fairy, who was gorgeous, being as she looked nearly identical to the boy’s mom.  (Why are you laughing?  That’s just not nice.)

The Birthday Fairy needs those wings to get strong so she can fly around and buy birthday presents, and put together a birthday celebration.  Sadly, if the Birthday Fairy hears too many loud sounds, well, her wings fall right off!  Loud sounds injure the delicate little Birthday Fairy’s wings.

If the Birthday Fairy’s wings fall off, there can be no flying, no presents and no celebration.  Harsh, eh?  Luckily, even if the wings fall off, they can reattach, strengthen and fly, given enough remorse by the birthday boy, and enough time to heal.

That Birthday Fairy is a powerful force around these parts.  If the siren noises, TV, iPad music or the screaming gets too loud, those wings are falling off!  I get a lot of:

“You don’t want the Birthday Fairy’s wings to fall off?”  after a particularly loud scream.  I will look at him and say, “Oh, I think those wings are really loose!”  He will respond with, “NO!” and we seem to have a reduction temporarily in our noise level.

Too bad his birthday celebration will be over at the end of the weekend.  Hmm, maybe a Fourth of July Firework Fairy?  Nope – fireworks are noisy – he won’t buy it.  A Summertime Pool Fairy that only allows playing in the pool when there is no screaming?  Nope – screaming is standard at the pool.

Oh well, it was good while it lasted.

[And yes – Toots and I have birthdays four days apart!  Thanks for all the birthday wishes for me too, my friends!  Happy Memorial Day Weekend! ]

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Birthday Fairy.

  1. Karla (Mom2MissK) says:

    You’re awful! LOL 🙂 But I still sooooo wish Little Miss would fall for something like a birthday fairy!

    Hope it’s a great weekend. Happy birthday, Toots!

  2. I hope you both have fabulous birthdays!!! I’m sending lots of cyber luv your way. 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday! You are such a wonderful mom. I want a birthday fairy!!! 🙂 hugs, sam

  4. Brilliant! I wish I had thought of that. It may not be too late. 🙂 I the way your mind works.

  5. Lizbeth says:

    I see nothing wrong with this birthday fairy. It’s only a shame I’ve not heard of her sooner. She could have done some damage around here and granted me some peace and quiet……

  6. Broot says:

    Happy Birthday Tootles!

  7. eof737 says:

    “Happy Belated Birthday to you Tootles! 🙂
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜
    ¸¸.•*¨*•░H░A░P░P░Y░(¯`’•.¸ *♥♥♥* ¸.•’´¯) ░B░I░R░ T░H░D░A░Y░ (¯`’•.¸*♥♥♥*¸.•’´¯) Hope you enjoyed YOUR special day!
    ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦═╦═╦═╦╦╗ ║╚╦╦═╣╚╣╚╦╝╠═╦╦╗
    ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║║║╬║╬║╬║║║ ║╬║║╔╣╔╣║║╬║╬║║║
    ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚╩╩╩╣╔╣╔╩╗║ ╚═╩╩╝╚═╩╩╩═╩╩╩╗║
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy Birthday .♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥Happy Birthday to youuuuu ♪♫•*¨*•.¸.•*¨*•♫
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜”

  8. I was quite impressed with the drum playing – he seems to really like those cymbals! I have to say that I’m glad Lily hasn’t discovered drums yet…

    And I think the Birthday Fairy is a perfect solution to pull out for those times when you need just a few minutes of peace and quiet!

    Hope the birthdays were full of fun!

  9. Kara says:

    That is fabulous. You know you’re brilliant, right? Happy Birthdays!

  10. Can the birthday fairy fly to South Africa?

Leave a Reply

