Almost Wordless Wednesday…Aquasand!

Tootles got Aquasand for his birthday.  This is sand that “never gets wet”, even underwater!  Here’s the commercial which made him believe he could not live without this stuff:

Being naturally lazy as I am, I really did not want him to play with it because, hey, I’d have to clean it up.  It started out okay.

We’re still fairly neat and clean here…

Then, someone got a little excited and started pouring it all out…

This “magic kingdom” really needed a good gardner…

It really does not get wet.  The water beads up around the sand.  Mommy was so intrigued I had to look it up.  The sand is coated in a silicate and repels the water.  It was originally used to clean up oil spills. (Well, okay – not the neon stuff – that came later as the toy…)

Water bead in corner.

Sand on a paper towel for drying. See the little beads of water?

Tootles was fascinated too…

Stirring to see the water beads.

The little scientist.

It was a fun and cheap (shhh- on clearance at our local Toys R Us).  It was a good sensory experience with a little science in the mix.  The little castle had lights in it that changed color that the little guy loved!  I would recommend this.  It really turned out not to be very messy and lots of fun.

You can see just a little sand on the table.

Happy Wednesday!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday.. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Almost Wordless Wednesday…Aquasand!

  1. So good to know about a sensory toy that is not very messy…and a lot of fun. Thanks!

  2. Claudia says:

    That’s great that he enjoyed playing with it. My son never took to this but my son used to have a really tough time with regular sand because of his sensory issues. He would melt down over it and things like glue sticking to his hands.

    • solodialogue says:

      I can understand that kind of issue too. My son does not have a problem with sand or glue, but get sticky food on him and he will go nuts until his hands have been washed again! For Tootles, it was about the feel of the sand but also the neon colors, lights and water beading on the scoop! 🙂

  3. Allie says:

    I almost bought this for SH but was afraid of the mess. Guess I need to make a Toys R Us trip, huh?

  4. karacteristic says:

    Sweet! This DOES look fun. Thanks for the recommendation. And, the fact that it’s on sale…you get 1200 extra bonus points.

  5. Oh this is *so* cool!! I can’t wait to move to the States!! XD

Leave a Reply

