14 Responses to Don’t Be Embarrassed.

  1. kcunning says:

    My son is 11, and has just started to be mortified by what I do.

    The other day, we had to go to Target, and we didn’t have much time to do it. I picked them up from the sitter’s and dashed over, then pushed them through getting what we needed. In the checkout, I realized I still had my monkey slippers on.

    Amused, I pointed it out to the kids. My son wanted to die, right then and there. He’s now taken to checking my shoes every time we leave.

    For what it’s worth, I think he skipped the elementary-school-age embarrassment, and is heading right into the tween-angst embarrassment.

    • solodialogue says:

      Haha! So funny. Sorry for Jake’s embarrassment but great story and barometer for me. Hope to hold out for the tween years then. Until they get here, of course. 😉

  2. Flannery says:

    This social stuff is so hard to teach. My son gets embarrassed about certain obvious things, like being seen naked by grandma, but he doesn’t have the awareness for more subtle things, like when he’s been unkind to a friend. As for being embarrassed by us, I can’t wait for that day. Walking him into school in my pajamas might be a good lesson for when he’s done something he shouldn’t!

    • solodialogue says:

      Really? Connor is embarrassed of nakedness in front of grandma? Cuz Toots happily runs around naked still although grandma has not been over in a while. Hmmm.

      And yes, you do remind me of the possibilities! Taking him to school in my PJs. I am part Asian though- I think I’d be too embarrassed to do that!

  3. Lizbeth says:

    We have just started to hit embarrassment here. He will will walk around all day naked but as soon as I show a bit of boob, I get this, “Ugggh, mom!!!” Lets just say he didn’t like seeing me in a bikini on the beach which I found ironic since I have no boobs.

  4. Lisa says:

    Hey, I talk to myself, too. Nothing wrong with that!!

    Tate also lacks the awareness to get embarrassed…although recently we’ve seen some steps towards it…like when a neighbor called him cute, he smiled and buried his head in his hands. But he doesn’t get embarrassed about inappropriate play or his echolalia.

    Our ABA therapists are working on similar programs with Tate…our boys are in similar places, it seems.

    One of these days we’ll be telling each other about our son’s eye roll as we chat withourselves in the car. 😉

    • solodialogue says:

      Thank you for saying you talk to yourself too!! 😉

      Yeah, I think our boys are in similar places. It would be fun to watch them together. And I can’t wait for the day of the eye roll! That will be awesome!

  5. Excellent post. For me, I didn’t feel socially aware of my peers at all, never thought about them thinking about me until puberty, and then that was all I could think about. Something triggers for ASD girls at puberty. I wonder how it is for boys with autism. I need to facebook you to swap phone phone numbers. We will be in town next week! 🙂 hugs, Sam

    • solodialogue says:

      I’ve heard that about ASD girls at puberty. I don’t know about boys. For me, I started becoming embarrassed of my mom when I was in 5th grade when I was 11 and hey – now that I think about it that was puberty – duh.

      Yay for next week! My phone number is already on my FB info. Excited to see you!! Hugs right back! 🙂

  6. I love that you admitted to talking to yourself!! I only really noticed that I started doing it once the kids were born cause I’d have to concentrate on being quiet when putting them to bed. Also one time, when I was brushing my teeth, the Bubs walked into the bathroom and busted me talking to myself. I don’t think I’ve ever felt my face flush so much! Which is weird, cause I don’t usually get embarrassed in front of him. I think it’s cause it was so unexpected. I can see The Don get flustered some times, but I don’t think it’s embarrassment. At least not yet… Guess I need to hone those skills cause I remember my parents used to embarrass me *a lot*!!

    • solodialogue says:

      You are young yet. You have plenty of time to get busted again talking to yourself! Just speaking hypothetically, of course. 😉

      As Flan says, it may be kind of fun to “hone the skill” of parental embarrassment to our advantage…. Jammies and slippers to school for starters! Haha!

  7. Teresa says:

    Emotions are certainly a challenge for our children. My son still has difficulty reacting appropriately when he sees someone he really cares about. If Grandpa comes in the house, Matthew will run out the back door or cover his face. Even if Dad comes home unexpectedly Matthew will hide his face. We all feel that emotion of seeing a loved one but most of us express it a little better than our kids.

    Now, being embarrassed is another story. There are still many things that don’t embarrass Matthew that should but whoa, if the spotlight shines on him for even a second. He can’t stand it! The other day we were at a restaurant and the staff came out singing Happy Birthday to someone nearby for a few seconds Matthew went into panic mode, thinking they would be paying attention to HIM.

    But the good thing is with lots of patience and consistency by you, especially through modelling you child can learn to act and react more appropriately.

    Keep up the good work!

    • solodialogue says:

      Thanks Teresa! I can just see how that whole “Happy Birthday” at the restaurant could put Matthew at unease- I get nervous sometimes too! (it’s so loud sometimes) Lol!

      I’ll work on the modeling but I cannot always promise that “I” make the correct social decisions either! 😉

Leave a Reply

