The Tree.

[This is not a story.  Several people I follow post poetry now and then.  When I first started “creative writing”, I too, wrote poetry.  Last night, I struggled for a long time to write a post.  I couldn’t publish it, my friends.  It came out too harsh.  I put it away.  

I thought of leaving the blog blank today but I kept going back to this poem I wrote recently.  I put this here today in place of my thoughts as it is part of who I am.  Someday, I may tell that story too.  But not today…]

Young tree

Branches reaching skyward

Thick, waxy leaves

Fresh, fragrant blossoms of spring

Lifting up, pushing past surroundings

Unconcerned

Immortal

Yearning for more sun

Pushing aside the other plants

A quest to conquer all

But the spring night’s darkness came

No moon

Silent, black

In an instant that could never be rewound

All its branches were bludgeoned

Shut down, in shock

Withered

Paled

Dying

Alone

Roots unscathed enough to feel deep pain

Other trees grew above and around.

In the days, months and years that followed

Cold, bitter hard rains, drought, extreme heat, wind and snow came and went.

Tiny new branches appeared

Growth from the deadened stump

Delicate and weak

Many buds perished.

Blooms were few, their scent faint

A ghostly reminiscence of time long past

Surrounded by plants it had once forged past

Light came through

Time passed

New branches grew stronger, thicker, over the scars

And in the moment it knew mortality

A tiny seedling dropped from its small blossom

The seedling stretched to sapling and rose up

Different from the rest

The tree, now old, found peace

And contentment

In a different life

Anew.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Tree.

  1. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

    I loved how hope shines through at the end — but not without acknowledging the darkness that makes that hope so precious.

    Thank you for sharing, my friend.

  2. Lisa says:

    Wow! Poetry is a genre that I really don’t write…but I appreciate good poems. This is beautiful. Like Karla, I love that the poem ends on a hopeful note. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Teresa says:

    I was rooting for that tree!

  4. You have a way with words. Thanks for sharing!

  5. This is just beautiful. Contentment in a different life- I know that well.

  6. eof737 says:

    Beautiful poem… 🙂

  7. alienhippy says:

    Hi, I write poetry to slow down my thoughts. I haven’t had any instruction on how to write I was in SEN all through school and missed all that. I just try to write out my images and what I feel in me. I love your poem, I love trees. This image caught my attention because the tree looks like it is dancing. Like a ballerina. I took my daughter on a trip today to the woods and we were talking a lot about one of her special interests, Greek mythology. So seeing this image was lovely. It reminded me of Apollo and Daphne and made me smile.
    Thank you for sharing. Love and hugs. Lisa. xx 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving this comment, Lisa! I had one “creative writing” class in 9th grade. I don’t really remember anything I “learned” in there. I think when we write from our souls, we can convey our emotions whether they are light and humorous or deeply emotional. I love the photo of the tree also – very humanistic that figure. Yes, Greek mythology does come to mind in the shape to me too! xo 🙂

  8. Your a poet and I didn’t know it!!! Fabulous. Loved the word choice, style and message behind the words. And the photo is so awesome, too. Thank you for sharing this part of you. 🙂 Sam

  9. Thanks for sharing a beautiful poem and thanks so much for stopping by My Journal of Praise and liking posts.

Leave a Reply

