“Wordy” Wednesday- The Temperamental Chef.

So, I’ve heard some things.  [see first commenter to the post here] Things about how “Wordless Wednesday” isn’t really wordless.  Not to be technical, but I always said “almost”!

Well, so as to be clear about these Wednesday adventures – I’ve decided to change the title this week and give you a vlog of sorts instead.

Little Tootles is working a program in ABA called “pretend play”.  He LOVES pretending to play the chef in the “kitchen”.  The program has now morphed into a reinforcer.  He will work other programs to get to play ‘kitchen’ as a reward.

This 1.5 minute video shows him engaged in his reward play.  The “script” is below so you can follow along…

Chef: Which pan do you wanna be?

Customer: You can be either pan.

Chef: This one!

Customer: Okay.  Ready?  Let’s play kitchen!

Chef: Can we do this one?

Customer: Yeah, we can do either one.

Chef: Let’s put that one away.

Customer: Okay.

Chef: What would you…let’s play kitchen!  What would you like to eat today?

Customer: I’ll have some fries and some chicken.

Chef: Cheeseburger!  And burger.

Customer: I could have a burger too, I guess.

Chef: (mumbling) This – wanna- pick the chicken….

(Customer points to the “chicken” she wants)

Chef: All right.  Coming right up!

Customer: Thanks!

Chef: [Sound effects:  Shhht -shhhhtt….]

Customer: Oh, that’s sizzling!

Chef: That looks good!!

Customer: Yeah, it does!

Chef: That will be five dollars!

(Customer hands over money.)

Chef: Thank you!

Customer: You’re welcome!

Chef: Thank you, beep-beep!

Customer: Oh, you’re gonna give it back to me?  Cool!

And there you have it.  

Happy Wordy Wednesday!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday., Autism. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to “Wordy” Wednesday- The Temperamental Chef.

  1. Lisa says:

    Awesome. Loved watching this! Tootles can come cook for me any day! 🙂

  2. I loved Wordy Wed! Great job, Tootles! I especially liked how the chef complimented his own cooking! 🙂

  3. Flannery says:

    He’s come a long way, baby! Amazing and adorable!!!

    You must be very proud, mama.

  4. So Cute! I love his sound effects and enthusiasm! He is precious 🙂

  5. Teresa says:

    Lol! That is classic. Love the sizzling sounds!

  6. Precious. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  7. Allie says:

    The sizzles are too cute! Play food is an awesome therapy tool.

  8. Wow! That’s some VIGOROUS sizzling! LOL!

    I think LM would LOVE to play kitchen with T (we use it as a reinforcer too!). Come on over!

Leave a Reply

