Done.

School is set to start tomorrow. Of course, that meant that the last scheduled ABA meeting prior to the start of school would be cancelled and there was no available tutor for the entire afternoon for my son.  Surprise!  I was elected entertainment committee for the day.

So, without fanfare, I basically, ended my working career, packed up some office supplies and took my box of files, and left.  I felt like I was stealing, child in tow.  (You know, I do own the office.  Nevertheless, I felt like I was stealing pens, stapler, tape dispenser, etc…)  I’d need these things as I would now be working from home.

To waste some time (honestly), I thought we’d make a last trip to Target before the big school day.

And so, we headed to our local Target, which is in the middle of a huge remodel.  Toots was very excited.  He wanted to look at some toy which wasn’t there and for which he was then disappointed.  Instead, we bought another of the Pete the Cat series of books about rocking his school shoes and all was right with the world again.

Once he was happy, I decided I was going to buy a fan.  It’s still 95 degrees here in Northern California, and I thought I could use it in the event I dusted off the recumbent bike and attempted some cardio activity while he was in class.  Did you know that fans are not purchasable at Target in the third week of August?  Clearly after about a month straight of over 100 degree daily weather, Northern California is finished with summer and no one in their right mind would purchase a fan…

Thus, began the great search.  Everything in the store has been rearranged, is missing or being placed back on the shelves.  We wandered from aisle to aisle.  Finally, I asked someone.  Of course, this person had no clue where fans would be.  She directed me toward the air purifiers (do these things work?).  I’d already been down this aisle and – no – there were no fans.  Someone else said they were sold out and would not be ordering any more since summer was over.  Really?

Not even one of these on clearance?!

Aimlessly, I continued wandering.  I figured there might be one of those $1.99 cheap push button fans, a clearance fan or something!  In the middle of the store, workmen were re-tiling and ironically, two giant fans were set on the floor, mocking me, to dry the tiles.  The construction workers urged me not to approach the new tiles.  I asked if they got the fans at the Target store.  “Hah!  Nope.  These here are industrial fans!” the workman said.  I thought, to myself, that I could use an industrial size fan.

Finally, my son, who rarely says much to me – quietly and matter-of-factly, announced the following:

“All done shopping at Target.”

I looked at him.  He was busy looking at Pete the Cat.  “Really?”  I asked, “You’re done?”

“Yes.” he responded quietly and dismissively.

“Hmmph!” I thought.

“Okay, I guess this means mama is also done shopping?”  I asked him.  He ignored me.  I, of course, took this to mean, I could search two last aisles for a fan.  As I started down one such aisle, he said,

“Thank you for shopping at Target.”

You know, I’ve never heard a cashier at Target say these words, have you?  Usually, the last words I get are, “Would you like the receipt with you, or in the bag?”  to which I reply, “In the bag is fine,” and either that person starts with the next customer or says, “Have a good day.”

Sadly, I gave up my quest for the fan.  Tootles won that round.  He’d been patient long enough.  And I got some appropriate scripting – although I have no idea where the script came from…perhaps he’s hanging out with his dad too much.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Done.

  1. kcunning says:

    It sounds like he was using one store’s farewell and subbing in Target. Jake used to do that quite a bit.

    Unfortunately, it was usually a phrase from “Go, Dog, Go.” Specifically, he liked the phrase “I do not like that hat.” Substitute in ‘dinner’, ‘book’, ‘Daddy’…

  2. Allie says:

    I’ve learned that when Cam says we are all done, then we are all done. He too does the “thank you for shopping…” thing for every store. I *think* maybe they say it at WalMart and that’s where he’s picked it up from.

    Speaking of Wal-Mart, I think you can get fans year round there. I’m surprised Target already has them off the shelf. It’s still summer!

  3. Lisa says:

    Tate often will say, “We’re all done now. Good bye, Target.” That is my cue. I know I have about 6 minutes before a meltdown will occur. At least Toots used some appropriate scripting to let you know that he was over Target!

    Sorry about the lack of fans…that is a bummer! We have one of those spray fan thingies…they are fantastic. They keep my boys amused for some time!

  4. savvyadvocatemom says:

    It’s nice to see that Toots is communicating so well with you. He’s pretty patient. SensiGirl will only go into Target if I promise her an Icee from the snack bar when we are done.
    I learned that Target is very narrow in its definitions of season. Not only are they out of fans in Aug. (they probably got the last ones out of there in July.) they don’t have mittens after January…in Minnesota…where Target was originally based. Whenever the mittens make a showing in the fall, all the moms are buying three pair to get them through the winter, because if your kid loses one in February you are out of luck. If nothing else, I bet you can order a fan off the net.

  5. I had no idea that Target was so limited seasonally. I love how Tootles told you it was time to go and he sounded like such a big guy about the whole thing, too.

    Good luck to the little guy tomorrow at school. I hope that he is comfortable and ready to learn. 🙂

  6. Denise says:

    I hate it when the stores I know move everything around! Maybe if its 95 degrees you could find snowboots or new Christmas lights!
    Happy First Day of First Grade tomorrow!

  7. Wow, Tootles. Way to get your point across. 🙂
    Best wishes for T’s first day. Be thinking of you both.

  8. LOL, T! Little Miss has her own way of telling me shopping is over too… “We goin’ home? We goin’ home now, mama?” Sigh… they are good.

    good luck with the first day of school — I’ll be waiting for adorable pics!

  9. Mary says:

    Tootles cracks me up. 😀

    Freckles says, “Can we go now? Can we go now? Can we go now?” It starts about 2 minutes after we get there and lasts all the way through the store.

    I found out I was allergic to corn last month so I have quit buying pop regularly. So I have a wonderful new bribe of Pepsi Throwback at the checkout. I don’t know what will happen if we get there and they’re out. *shudder*

    I hope the first day of school is going/went well. School started here 2 weeks ago. Freckles is not getting along with her classmate. I could tell how upset she was last night by how many times she opened and closed the door on the dollhouse van. But hey! At least she didn’t deck the other kid. Right?

    Of course I did my overprotective mom thing and asked the teacher to move Freckles to a new table. It’s in everyone’s best interest.

  10. heheheehe I get frustrated by them clearing out summer clothes before summer is over! lol about the fan. Last night at Fred Myers (you know that store, likely, but I didn’t before moving here) I was complaining to Bob about how they keep rearranging things in stores. lol. Enjoyed your post. 🙂

  11. My husband says he is going to request to be buried at Target so that I will come visit him regularly! 🙂 He might be onto something….

Leave a Reply

