Monday is my Friend.

Oh, Monday, how I love you.

No, really.  I do.

Because, on Monday, I get a break.

All weekend, I am with my little companion.  24/7.  He’s quite a little conversationalist.  And the thing is, that he never runs out of words because he’s ecologically-minded.  He recycles.

Here are the top two topics with which I was regaled over the weekend:

Boulders –  What kind of blogger would I be if I didn’t share my experiences…

There are five in particular.  There is lion boulder, so named because he resembles a lion’s face.  All weekend it was –  “Oh no! Lion boulder’s arms and legs are all cut off!  How did lion boulder get his legs and arms cut off?  Lion boulder’s legs and arms are cut off.  Where are lion boulder’s arms and legs that were cut off?”  leaving images of bloody stumps and appendages in my mind.

Obviously, you can see the Lion’s face, right?

Snowy was named by my little “imaginarian”, for the lighter shades of gray on him which have become his “snow”.  “What color is snow boulder?”  “What color is that there mommy?  Oh no!  Snow boulder stepped in a large pile of snow!” (A variation on his Pete the Cat book ‘Oh no, Pete stepped in a large pile of strawberries…”).  What does snow boulder say?  Does he sing his snow song?  Mommy, sing snow boulder’s song.  Sing it, Mommy!”  (Odd, that he would demand my singing, yet if I actually want to sing something, I am told to “Stop singing, mommy.”)

What do you mean you can’t see snow? My kid has more imagination than you…

Fire log boulder – resembles – well, a fire log.  “Mommy, what does fire boulder (fire – for short) say?  Fire boulder is really, really……. (Fill in the blank).  If you touch fire boulder, you could get burned, so you have to be careful or you will have to go to the …… (fill in the blank).  What does fire boulder say?  What color is he?  Fire boulder has….. fire!”

Cross-the-Street boulder (& Baby Boulder)– Yes, yes, it lives across the street from us.  Even though a ‘he’, I’ve been told he has a baby which is a boulder a few feet away referred to as ‘baby’ boulder in honor of my friend, Jessica’s baby.  So, it is either “baby boulder” or “baby E” boulder.  “Say hi to cross-the-street boulder, Mommy.  Does Cross-the-Street boulder say hi to you Mommy?  Does he?  How about baby boulder, mommy?  What does baby boulder say?  Does baby boulder drink milk, Mommy?  Is baby boulder thirsty?  Does baby boulder cry?  Does he say wah, wah?”  (No, but Mommy is close by this time to saying wah herself).

Since construction on our main road has us taking a detour every day, we have to pass by all these “sights”.  I’ve been forced on walks to take pictures of these.  For the rest, he takes pictures on my phone as we drive by and then spends the rest of his time, admiring his photo family of rocks.

A “Tootles” original photo. (This is cross-the-street boulder, by the way).

The Crush – Well, we’re finally there.  Toots has his first crush and it’s on one of his tutors.  She is an adorable girl.  Very kind and pretty.  But she is a little old for him.  Nevertheless, when he is not talking about boulders, this is another topic of choice.

“Which of your friends that works with you has a voice?”

“We all have voices.  Mommy has a voice.  Tootles has a voice.  You are talking to me and I am talking to you with a voice.”

“Which one of your friends that works with you sings?”

I guess all the wrong names on purpose.  As I guess, he adds, “And??  And???” and when I actually say her name he gets a huge grin on his face and laughs.  He wants to write her name, hear her name said by others, but he does not want to say her name himself or look at a picture he has of both of them at a restaurant.

That was a bit odd, I thought.  It seems the crush may be on her voice.  They played “Rock Band” together and she sang.  She’s no Whitney Houston.  I don’t get it.

Please don’t let this be a long-lived obsession.  For those of you who’ve already lived through this one, can you give me a clue how long these things last?  All my son’s other obsessions have lasted a good six months or so and then go on a scheduled rotation.  I’m wondering how this one works into that…

What with all that fun repetition all weekend, following me everywhere, in the bathroom, laundry room, kitchen, bedroom, out to the store, I was on live-streaming, non-stop repeats.

Monday morning came, and having read a post from my friend Lisa about her children getting up early, Toots seems to have “caught” that virus.  He woke up at 4:30 a.m., ready to go.  He wanted breakfast at 5.  My alarm was set for 4:45 anyway – yes, that’s when I get up M-F.  I was determined to get on my recumbent bike.  I did.  I was treated (for a half hour) to a toy car stuffed up in my face while Toots pushed a siren button over and over.  I told him to “get lost.” (Hey, honesty here- credit for honesty!).  Repeatedly.  It worked for 30 seconds at a time…

I felt I might be in trouble when he was like this at 8:45 Sunday night…

We were finally on our way to school.  I felt the finish line in view!  I was going to get a break!  Softly, from the back seat, I thought I heard, “Give it to mommy,” which is usually a signal that he wants me to take his cup.  I reached my hand back somewhat in confusion since he had no cup.  His little hand touched mine.  I felt a mother’s love.  Surely, I was going to miss him despite all my complaining.  As I pulled my hand back, I realized what he was giving me.  A booger.

Yup.  Monday is the new Friday.  Whoo-hoo!

How I see Mondays….

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday is my Friend.

  1. LMAO! Oh, seriously, Karen! I wish I wasn’t laughing, but a booger? Classic!

    If it makes you feel any better, LM also hands me boogers. I recommend keeping a pack of “boogie wipes” in the door pocket of the car for just those situations. You never know 😉

  2. Lisa says:

    Aww, his first crush. Too cute–and completely appropriate!!

    Sorry to hear that T caught the early wake-up bug. Boo…hope he decides it isn’t so much fun. We moms need our quiet time!!

    And, well, the 6 year old in me is still giggling about the booger. Haha…truth be told, that happens here more than I’d like to admit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

