Almost Wordless Wednesday – The Usual?


With his picky eating, Toots will only consume a couple different foods.  One of his staples is ordered this way…

“Crunchy taco, no lettuce, easy meat, extra cheese and a strawberry shake.”

I will get to “no lettuce…” and they know the rest.  It’s ready by the time I circle around to pay.  And then this happens:

First, bite.

Next, break apart…

Last, dump out the insides and eat the shell.

At least, he’s eating something…

Happy Wednesday!

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday.. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Almost Wordless Wednesday – The Usual?

  1. Ha! Love that little man!

    Little Miss also has a special breakfast order… “strawberry cereal (aka Red Berries Special K), no strawberries, no milk.” I found out long ago that if you leave the strawberries in, you will be handed partially wet bits of sticky strawberry throughout the meal. Yum.

  2. blogginglily says:

    ugh. . . my NT daughter has been ordering McDonald’s hamburgers lately. That’s awesome, because she needs more variety, even if it is fast food crap. BUT. . . it must be a plain double hamburger with pickles on the side.

    We go to McDonald’s twice a week minimum, and sometimes more for Lily. . . care to guess how often they get that plain double hamburger with pickles on the side order right? 0% of the time. We ALWAYS check it. It’s ALWAYS wrong. Usually it’s cheese. So usually we order it this way. . . “Plain double hamburger with nothing on it. No cheese, no ketchup, no pickles, no lettuce. Nothing. Just two patties on a bun.” because they’re MORE likely to get that right. . . but they STILL screw it up. Last time they just gave her the two patties. . . no bun. The time before that. . . still had cheese. They almost ALWAYS forget the pickles. Nightmare.

  3. Lisa says:

    Does T hang out with Jake?! Cuz that’s how Jake does tacos, too. (Although just recently Jake has eaten the cheese, too!!)

  4. Allie says:

    Oh my goodness where did you find that Pac Man shirt?!?! I neeeeeed one!

    I actually like my tacos the exact same way though I try not to break the shell because then all the other stuff gets on my hands and then my SPD kicks into full gear and then I proceed to freak out. I’m sure my husband just loves living in a house full of quirky people 😉

  5. Flannery says:

    He’s adorable with his taco! I can’t get Connor to eat tacos, but he will at least eat a hamburger, but NO PICKLES. If I forget to say “no pickles” and he finds one, he will berate me for the next 20 minutes about how much he hates the friggin’ pickles.

  6. Teresa says:

    Here’s one I ordered more than once at McDonald’s “cheeseburger please: no ketchup, no mustard, no pickle, no burger. Yes, I am sure.”

Leave a Reply

