Almost Wordless Wednesday: Anatomy of the 24 hour EEG

Yep.  Every 6 months, Toots gets another EEG to check his seizure activity.  He has absence seizures – seizures in his sleep.  The last EEG took place during Christmas break so he wouldn’t miss school.

Nearly in tears.  (He hates anyone even touching his head so...

Nearly in tears. (He hates anyone even touching his head so…

The purple marker is to determine all the places to put electrodes.

The purple marker is to determine all the places to put electrodes.

After they are placed, his head is wrapped in gauze and gauze is wrapped around the recorder which is placed in a backpack that he must take everywhere for 24 hours.

After about 20-25 electrodes are placed, his head is wrapped in gauze and gauze is wrapped around the wires to the recorder which is placed in a backpack that he must take everywhere for 24 hours.

Once he's home he plays, but he knows he cannot stray from the backpack.

Once he’s home he plays, but he knows he cannot stray from the backpack.

The next morning, after sleeping on it, the gauze always falls away, exposing the electrodes.

The next morning, after sleeping on it, the gauze always falls away, exposing the electrodes.

The removal is done with more gauze soaked in a removal liquid.  It’s rubbed on the electrodes to loosen them from the sticky paste.  This is quick but Toots yells and fights this more than the placement.  Thus, no photos.

Results?  Stable but “abnormal”.  Details to follow.

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Almost Wordless Wednesday., Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Almost Wordless Wednesday: Anatomy of the 24 hour EEG

  1. Erin says:

    That is great that they let you do it at home. We had to stay in one room, on video camera in the hospital – no fun. And really, nobody likes getting those electrodes on there – the goo combined with that noisy vacuum thing or whatever it is… Glad he got through it ok. He’s a trooper!

    • solodialogue says:

      We’ve had the fan blowing on him when he did this the first time. It was horrible for him. After that, our neurologist recommended coming to his office which is an autism treatment center and they did this with a paste that does not require “glue” and there is no need for a fan! Much, much better! I recommend asking for it if you have to this on a regular basis like we do! Happy New Year, Erin!

  2. Teresa says:

    It looks like it went a bit smoother this time. 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    This brings back dome memories. Tate’s 48 hour one showed no seizure activity. This made me want to cry with him. .I remember how tortuous the process was. Hugs

    • solodialogue says:

      Thanks Lisa. It’s just a part of our life. While the first one was horrible, it’s slowly getting less difficult each time he goes through it. We have them every six months and I thought the pictures might help new families who have to go through it.

      • Lisa says:

        I’m glad to hear that it’s getting easier as time goes on! It was his eyes in the first picture that made me melt…

        I wish I would have seen this when we had Tate’s…it would have prepared me for what was ahead…and allowed me to show him what was going to happen.

      • solodialogue says:

        It made me melt too! Hope someone can use these pics out there!

  4. Lana Rush says:

    While it looks and sounds like it was a bit easier this time, his sad eyes just break my heart. 😦 Look forward to hearing what you found out.

    And Happy New Year to you, my friend. I feel like I’ve been out of the loop for a while and I’ve missed you! 🙂

    • solodialogue says:

      He did have sad eyes there when it was going on. Then, he was laughing and happy and play. We finished with mad (!) when it was taken off! I will let you know when I get the full report.

      Looking forward to reading much more of you this new year and seeing those beautiful girls’ faces on your blog!! xoxo

  5. Blogginglily says:

    We have to get back in to have another EEG done for Lily. It’s just something we look forward to SO little that we’re finding ourselves blocked…by ourselves.

  6. Oh, that sweet face! I’m glad things went better this time around – and that T is understanding the process more.

  7. Crumbs, so stressful, although from what I understand, the experience is getting better? Such a handsome boy.

    • solodialogue says:

      Thanks, he is quite a handsome little boy-not that I’m biased or anything… 😉

      And yes, it is getting more predictable and thus, easier for him to get through! Happy New Year to your lovely family!

Leave a Reply

