Thanks to all the Little People.

IMG_2183

Toots got a lot of toys for Christmas.  On Christmas morning, he ripped open packages, but not with the joy of opening a present.  He was on the hunt for something he specifically asked Santa to bring.  In the aftermath, some really cool stuff was disregarded by its recipient, who was looking for the obsessed over item.

For instance, he asked Santa for a Batman Shake-N-Go motorcycle.  When he saw a box that was the right size, he grabbed it and ripped off the paper.  Underneath was a plain, brown, Amazon.com box.  I was in the kitchen, getting a garbage bag for all the disregarded wrap.

He ran to me with the box, and yelled, “Open it! Ornament!”  This is his mantra to get help opening boxes.  I looked at it, and thought the box did not look familiar to me. “What makes you think this is your present?”  I asked.  He responded, “Batman cycle!”   Opening the box, I discovered it was a camera for me!  Surprise.  Eventually, he found his Batcycle…

IMG_2754

Christmas came and went.  But during the season, I saw discussions on the issue of “age-appropriate” toys from other parents of autistic children.  The consensus seemed to be that if the child was happy with the toy, it didn’t matter what the “suggested” age was.  It didn’t strike me as an Earth-shattering discussion.  If Toots wants a Barbie, he gets one.  If he wants a “baby” squeaky teether, he’s welcome to it, as long as it makes him happy.  What’s the big deal?

ToyBearBlocksSmallWebFlipped

Interestingly, though, as I look back on most of his Christmas toys, it seemed that those he asked “Santa” to bring, were mostly age-appropriate.  None of the toys raised any “age appropriate” flags in my mind.

Then came Lori.

IMG_9578Lori has known Toots since he was a baby.  We met her at the toy store where Toots wants to live.  She is an expert in toys.  Lucky for us, she adores Toots and has always respected his desires.  Lori was very busy at Christmas this year.  Despite her schedule, she called Toots over one day, shortly after Christmas.  Getting Toots’ attention is difficult, but for Lori?  Easy.

She said to him:

“Toots, when everything calms down around here, I want to take you shopping and you can pick out anything in the store, okay?”  He was prompted to thank her by me, after Lori and I had a battle discussion about how crazy that was!  I would not allow it!  However,  when Lori, lovingly told me to “shut up and stay out of it”, I did. She did not want me interfering with her gift to my son.  How could I argue with that?

They made a date.  He showed up with his chaperone (me).  Before he got started (and outside Lori’s presence), I told him to pick out one “small toy”.  He was listening because he understands that if I let him have a toy, a small one means something along the lines of a Hot Wheels car.

He started out appropriately enough, but soon, Lori had him walking all the aisles, explaining all the toys and their functions.  This alone is amazing.  Toots is afraid of many toys; the sounds, movements, even how they look can be sensory overload.  Due to that, I relent at his desire not to go down certain aisles. Lori, on the other hand, will not just go there, but push buttons, and describe things! Toots is able to put aside his sensory overload to follow Lori’s excitement and support down those aisles and she does things I could never get away with.

Toots let Lori know he wanted to look at a “Little People” Batman.  She showed it to him, showed him similar items and “accessories”, what the toy did and asked whether he liked it.

Truth?  I would never have gone down that aisle, much less bought Little People.  I would have (and probably did – though I don’t recall) avoided the aisle for fear of the sensory meltdown and said, “you don’t want to go there…” heading him elsewhere.   

black_no_censorship_button

In that moment, I realized that I’d been subconsciously, censoring “non age-appropriate” toys from my son’s repertoire, though I never thought of it that way.  I felt bad.  I was a two-face…to myself, saying the age-appropriateness didn’t matter, when, in fact, apparently, it did.

I wondered, initially, whether I was being accommodating of his “sensory aversion” or whether I was enabling him to avoid challenges.  I wondered whether I was using the “sensory aversion” to censor what toys would make it home.  In any event, the censorship was over that day.

We came home with some superheroes.  He “ornamented” me into removing Little People Batman and the Batmobile out of their packaging along with a Little People Green Lantern and Superman figure.  Then, he asked me to find him a toy that he got when he was less than a year old, his Little People Market.  Dutifully, I dug it out from the back of a closet.

IMG_2746

We played.  Batman drove the Batmobile to the Market where he bought each of the ten kinds of groceries, in increments of two at a time.  The groceries were placed on the Batmobile and taken to be shared with the Green Lantern and Superman.  He made conversation.  He took the “balls” that were grocery items and turned them into “golf balls”, “soccer balls” etc.  Batman and his friends played golf together and said, “Nice shot!”  He continued pretend play for nearly 30 minutes.  

IMG_2741

He’s returned to the Little People for pretend more than once.  He uses those little figures to make conversation.  Most of it is echolalia, but it’s appropriate!  And all because Lori really does ignore the “age-appropriate” label.

IMG_2745

So, thanks to all the Little People.  We came home with some Little Superheroes that day but we left the biggest superhero at the store.  Because Lori listened to my son, my little guy is practicing his language and social skills in a whole new way.

[You may have noticed my absence over the last week.  We took the biggest trip of our lives.  I will write about it soon.]

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Thanks to all the Little People.

  1. Lisa says:

    What terrific pretend play!! Love that he found some toys that inspire him to play! For us, it has been Doc McStuffins and Lambie–the most popular toy for 3 year old girls…but whatever…it works!

  2. Mom2MissK says:

    We have a lot of Little People… A LOT a LOT. We even have that market… So there 🙂

    I have consciously been steering Little Miss toward age appropriate toys, but I try to be conscious of the things she takes a shining too as well — you’ll find most of them in the light-up, big-buttons and silly-music baby aisle, by the way.

    I guess what I’m saying is that with our kids, balance is particularly important. Age appropriate toys are not likely to be developmentally appropriate, but we still need to continue introduce these things. Because let’s face it — our kids are also creatures of habbit and consistency. In that sence, we need to continue to increase their comfort zones little by little.

  3. Erin says:

    My kids can never survive the toy store without a very specific mission. I’m impressed! And I can’t wait to hear about your trip. 🙂

  4. Oh, wow! Fantastic display of imaginative play. So happy for you! And I’m am very impressed with T’s memory of his toys…and that you were able to find it! What a special lady Lori must be. 🙂 And I am sooooo looking forward to hearing about your trip. I hope it was fantastic!

    • solodialogue says:

      Thank you! I’m glad I learned something in the process! And yes, Toots remembers all his toys and inventories them on his head, making it difficult to discard anything!

      The trip was a growth experience for all of us. I hope it comes out that way. 🙂 (when it’s written, I mean!)

  5. I am so glad to hear about Toots progress. Your post made me look at the toys in a different way. I picked up a cup cake duplo set (ages 3-5) for Sensi. She LOVED it. She and her brother played with it together numerous times this weekend. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

