Short and Sweet.

As this is President’s Day Weekend, and the little guy is out of school, I’ve got my hands full.  We’re practicing for the Spelling Bee finals out of town Monday after next.  We have pages and pages of words to learn which seem far beyond the knowledge of first graders.  Nevertheless, we are plodding along.

Meanwhile, we took a trip to the grocery store.  Nothing exciting.  There was a long line at the grocery store.  He waited in that line with – dare I say it?  No behaviors, other than any other 6 year old boy, of course.  He was opening and closing a cold case for Red Bull.  And then, he did something extraordinary for him.  Something he’s never done in his entire life.

He noticed the checkout line candy.

checkout-candy

We have been through the checkout 1000s of time. He has never before looked at, oogled, picked up, mentioned, reacted to, begged for or talked about the candy.  Sunday, very matter-of-factly, he picked up some mini-m&ms, like he does it every day, and said he’d like them please.

You know we’re a little different when my heart leapt, I smiled and was overjoyed, because he asked me to buy him impulse candy!   Needless to say, I bought it.  I didn’t care that it’s not a perfect food!

And he sat in the back of the car, opened the container and ate them, by himself, like he does it every day. (He never has before…)

IMG_2905

Who gets weepy when their kid feeds himself mini-m&ms in the back seat of the car?  Oh, that’s me.  (And, by the way, he still has some left!)

About solodialogue

I'm a lawyer and the mom of a 6 year old boy with autism. I work part time and spend the rest driving here and there and everywhere for my son's various therapies. Instead of trying cases, I now play Pac-man and watch SpongeBob. I wear old sweaters and jeans and always, always flat shoes to run after my son. Yeah, it's different but I wouldn't change it for anything. The love of my child is the most powerful, beautiful and rewarding aspect of my life.
This entry was posted in Autism and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Short and Sweet.

  1. Lisa says:

    That’s awesome! Hope he continues to enjoy the tasty treat!

  2. I would be beside myself if Nick did that! In fact I would be jumping up and down with excitement. You have every right to get weepy. Way to go little guy! 🙂

  3. Mom2MissK says:

    Wow! Little Miss asks for candy, but usually as an afterthought while she is throwing them (and anything else she can get her hans on) into the cart. Sort of a *PLUNK* “I need candy” *PLUNKPLUNKPLUNK* *PLUNKPLUNK* “What IS this, Huh?” effect. I’d settle for a polite young man ANY day!

  4. That would’ve been me too 🙂
    These are def the kinds of things that you need to share with other special needs parents. We know how amazing it is.

  5. Erin says:

    Love this! I would have been hard-pressed not to buy him more than just the one he asked for! And he did ask so nicely. 🙂

  6. Denise says:

    Happy News! The next step is to share with mom. He-He just kidding!

  7. I love this! It’s always the little things that mean so much! And good luck with the spelling bee!

  8. eof737 says:

    So sweet… the delight is palpable. 😉

  9. Cyn says:

    OMG thank you for sharing that moment!!! Its such a regular kid kinda thing to do right but for “us” Moms we live for our child doing that. I have this private rule now that if he figures out how to request it and it doesn’t cost an arm and a leg Mommy is buying it. I think I am going to be trouble with that rule.

Leave a Reply

